Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Dog Spooning

on May 5, 2010

Last night, Jasmine was a bit restless. She woke up in the wee hours of the night/morning and started snuffling about, digging and scritching the covers, and doing the head shake/thundering ears sound that we Dachshund lovers know really well. She did her best to wake me up. I called her to me and she came snuffing over. She plopped down next to me on her soft blanket and proceeded to snuggle into my belly and fell into an immediate, deep sleep (HOW do they do that?).

All of a sudden, I found myself spooning with a miniature dachshund. The curve of her back was snuggled deeply into my torso. I wrapped my arm around her, snuggled into HER and fell into a deep and relaxing sleep. Until the alarm came on in what seemed like five minutes flat. 🙂

2 responses to “Dog Spooning

  1. Kate says:

    Dachshunds are excellent snugglers. Whenever the pups are allowed up in the big bed, Jordan finds his spot right by my side and snuggles into my tummy. So cute.

  2. Leonie says:

    Hee hee, my two little minis aren’t allowed in my bed generally (they do sleep in my room, but in their own bed!), but while I was renting recently, before buying our new house, I was without a bed for a while so the three of us shared an inflatable lilo on the floor. It was so nice snuggling with them each night – one would cuddle up to my chest or belly like you describe Jasmine doing, and the other would snuggle into my back – I’d fall asleep laughing to myself, feeling like I was in a “puppy sandwich”!!

Leave a Reply

