Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

That’s Mine

on February 13, 2010

We went out with my Mom today for our weekly Saturday luncheon. Until the weather gets better, Jasmine can’t come with us; and even then, there aren’t many dog-friendly eating establishments around here, so her participation in our weekly outings will be limited. So Jasmine stays home in her comfy bed while we’re out for a few hours every Saturday.

When we returned home, we walked into the family room to greet the pup. Instead of being in her comfy bed, she was in…MY chair. My leather recliner. My leather recliner that she’s not supposed to be on without me.

She has never climbed on the furniture since we moved here a year ago. Yet there she was today, ears perked, head up, covered with her little pink blankie (that I use when she lays on my lap). She stared with us with a stoic lack of concern for her obvious (to us) poor judgment and bad behavior. She then jumped off (oy!) the chair and ran up to us in greeting.

Hubby told me that she has now claimed the chair. It’s hers. She owns the chair.

Somehow, I know at the pit of my stomach that he’s RIGHT. Even if I blockade the chair, there was a look of claim in those shiny little eyes. Let’s call it a Dachshund stare-down. She stared at me and claimed, “Mine.”

You KNOW that look, don’t you?

2 responses to “That’s Mine

  1. Kate says:

    Oh, I know that look all too well. At one time or another, all of my three have made it crystal clear that [item] is theirs – they’re just letting me think it’s mine for the moment. A Dachshund stare-down is EXACTLY what it is.

  2. Shayna says:

    Most definitely…and if the look isn’t enough, the fact that Mocha, my Dachshund-Chihuahua hybrid, will stop at nothing to wedge herself in the there inches of space between my left leg and the couch arm…at which time she stretches out her eight pounds body to push me on the crack where that cusion and the next one meet, is pretty in my face… For the record, I live alone, which means she has the option of an entire loveseat and two other couch cushions to snuggle on.

    The only thing keeping me from retreat is that that seat is the only one the laptop’s power cord reaches…

    Great blog!!!

    Following you from http://ShaynaLeahK.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

