Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Jasmine the Jumper

on December 21, 2009

The worst thing in the world to see is a dog that has had IVDD jumping off a bed or a chair. Our sometimes squirrely little pup did just that–not once, but twice–this weekend and put me into hovering, overprotective mom mode.

We are now letting Jasmine sleep with us on the big bed (I got tired of being woken up in the middle of the night to an overly anxious little pup who just wanted to snuggle). Yeah, I know. Sucker. Well, she decided yesterday morning to jump off the bed when I was in the bathroom. Hubby was just trying to pet her, and her “scaredy dog” attitude towards him went into overdrive yesterday for no apparent reason. She leapt off the VERY high bed onto the carpeting. Hubby called to me and I ran in to see what the hullaballoo was all about. He told me, I called Jasmine out from under the bed, and I checked her. Thank goodness there wasn’t any damage to her back!

The implication is that I can’t trust her on the bed at all when I am not in the room. Hubby seems to think that dogs have some natural instinct for danger. Um, yeah maybe when there’s a predator that’s about to eat them, but jumping off a bed? Nope.

The second incident occurred yesterday evening. I placed Jasmine in hubby’s lap for a little peanut buttah treat. He finished giving her a little bit of peanutty goodness when she leapt off the recliner and onto the floor. My heart was in my throat! She was once again unharmed, but it’s just so disconcerting to see her do these things…I know that doxies jump off of furniture all the time. But a dog with a history of IVDD…there can’t be any latitude.

So I’m watching her like a hawk. I don’t want her to hurt herself again. Okay. My heartbeat is back to normal now.

3 responses to “Jasmine the Jumper

  1. Briana says:

    Why don’t you get some doggie stairs for your bed. They work wonders for my doxie Grace and in fact all 5 of my dogs, even the pug and the beagle use them. They can be inexpensive plastic or the more expensive wood ones. I have the plastic one that has carpet treads and it works wonderfully. If you have wood floors you might want to put a rubber backed throw rug under it so it does not move when used. My daughter even has one for her couch that her 5 little dogs use all the time. If Jasmine doesn’t like stairs (like some doxies) you can get a ramp that goes from bed to floor etc. Hope this helps to keep you from having heart flutters every time Jasmine goes to jump. Merry Christmas. I love reading about Jasmine and all her escapades!

  2. Lindy says:

    You might as well stop resisting and buy a free standing
    ramp 🙂

    I ordered one online that was 26″ high (many are too short for a tall bed). All the dogs use it and I no longer have to panic about a dog jumping off the bed. (it was about $130 if I remember right)

    Of course my bedroom is so small the ramp makes it even harder to move around but such is life.

    I love reading about Jasmine. Currently there are 4 foster doxies sleeping where she used to sleep. Hopefully they too will soon find good homes.

  3. Beth Bridges says:

    We built our own ramp so it was exactly the right height. We were afraid that Braut the Wiener would not use it, but he does. Even when he gets excited, he’ll still use the ramp. We’ve thought about one for the sofa, instead we’ve got extra padding under the area rug.

Leave a Reply

