Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Leaf Romping

on October 1, 2009

I can’t believe it’s October already. Fall has arrived and the leaves are turning brilliant shades of red, orange and yellow. Many of them have hit the ground in our yard. I’m sure I’ll enjoy them until I have to help rake them up.

Jasmine’s demeanor has been changing with the weather. Perhaps the vacation had a positive effect on her. Perhaps little critters have been running through our yard in preparation for winter. Whatever the reason, Jasmine has been a rompy little creature this week. In the morning and in the evening when I take her out before I leave for work and after I return home, Jasmine goes bounding through the leaves in full bunny mode. Bounce bounce bounce she goes as she romps through the yard, tail up and waggy, ears flapping. She sniffs the air, the ground, she bounces through the yard and then runs her “circuit” around the stone wall, up the side of the hill and down the stone steps back to me. It’s so fun to watch because in those brief moments, she is pure doggie joy.

She runs back to me with her tail wagging and comes up on the deck, ready to go back inside to her comfy bed, toys and warm lap. Watching her brings light to my day. It’s so good to see her so happy.

Leave a Reply

