Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Happy Anniversary Jasmine

on July 15, 2009

Today is the two-year anniversary of our welcoming Jasmine into our home. We’ve come a really long way, and we can’t imagine what life would be like without her.

Two years ago, Jasmine:

  • Didn’t know what a treat was and didn’t like dog biscuits
  • Didn’t know what a leash or collar was (and sure as heck didn’t like them) and hated to go for walks
  • Would not play with toys because she didn’t know what they were
  • Used to squeeze behind my back as I sat on the floor so she could hide
  • Held her tail tucked under almost all the time and never wagged it

Today…

  • Jasmine wakes me up every morning at 5:30 a.m. so she can come on the bed and snuggle
  • Greets me excitedly when I come from work with a huge waggy tail and prancing pony hops
  • Leaps for joy when it’s time for a treat or dinner
  • Stands at attention with her cutest face on when we’re eating
  • Still hates to go for walks but loves to go outside
  • Gives kisses
  • Plays with her toys (still loves the screaming monkey the best)
  • Romps through the house
  • Comes running at full speed when called
  • Seriously fluffs her bed before settling down
  • Woofs at me when she feels that I’m working too hard and demands that I put down the computer and put her on my lap

She still has challenges with trust and may never be fully socialized, but I am so pleased with how much she’s come out of her shell. I’m glad that whatever life she had before coming to us is over. She’s a sweet, gentle, funny little dog who deserves all the love and kindness that we can give her. Looking at her sleeping on her fluffy little blankets on her puffy bed, she’s exactly where she should be…as an integral member of this family.

Happy Anniversary Jasmine. We’re so glad you’re here.

7 responses to “Happy Anniversary Jasmine

  1. Christy says:

    Congratulations! Jasmine is lucky to have such a patient, loving, and kind family and I am sure you feel just as lucky to have her. I have been following your blog on my wordpress tag surfer. I had to laugh about the prancing pony hops. Our dachshund does prancing pony when he’s showing off something he’s particularly proud of, like a new toy or treat.

  2. Raecheal says:

    I just love reading about Jasmine- every time I think of what she went through before you rescued her it makes me cringe and hug Peni Penn (our dachshund/ furry child) close. Keep up the love- you have made a huge difference in the life of a sweet (and gorgeous) pup pup!

  3. Amanda says:

    That is just so so awesome to hear. It’s amazing what a little bit of patience and kindness can do to help a dog like Jasmine and my Winnie…who now after 6 years has decided that sleeping under the covers behind my knees isn’t so bad after all. 🙂

    Jasmine is lucky to have you both – as well as you’re very fortunate to have her.

  4. Link says:

    Yep….you all lucked out per finding one another.

    Nice to read happy stuff like Jasmine’s progress.

    Happy Anniversary!!

  5. Tim says:

    Congratulations Jasmine! It has been such a treat reading her story. My wife and I rescued a miniature dachshund from a puppy mill in 2008 and were not quite sure what to make of our painfully timid pup. She too exhibited the same tendencies as Jasmine. She was terrified of grass, wouldn’t eat treats. wouldn’t play with toys and kept her tail tucked tightly between her legs. Oh how we worried. My wife was doing some research on how to help her and found your blog. We have both enjoyed your posts and identify with your stories of triumph and set back. I’m proud to say Hazel is enjoying life now. She enjoys rolling in the grass, treats, toys and will wag her tail. Thanks again for sharing your stories!

    • mwdonnelly says:

      Thanks for the comment, Tim! I’m so glad that Jasmine’s story has been a help to you and your wife; that was the purpose of this blog. Congratulations on making a better life for Hazel. It sounds like she’s coming along well and is loving life with you!

  6. ravnistic says:

    You’ve just described our wonderful dachshund perfectly, you’ve really brought out the best in her.

Leave a Reply

