Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Woof If Ya Need to Go

on July 12, 2009

I’m so proud of our little pup.

For two years now, we haven’t been sure if she’s housebroken. Will she or won’t she “go” in the house? It’s always on my mind when I go out. We had been enclosing her in the kitchen when we went out but have recently begun to give her the run of the family room (and the two beautiful wool rugs I bought to furnish them). I’ve been concerned that leaving her for long periods would lead to a ruined carpet.

The other evening, I was hanging out on the recliner doing some work. Jasmine came running around the coffee table and sat in front of her bed. She woofed at me and did her little bunny hop. I took that as a sign of “I want a treat” so I made her sit and gave her a treat. But that didn’t suffice.  She ran around the coffee table again and did the same thing. I looked at her, and I knew it wasn’t quite a “treat” look. So I asked her if she wanted to “go outside” and she went into her wriggling, twisting, jumping for joy response.

So I took her outside, and she promptly did her business, looked at me and ran back up to the door.

I was so proud of her I could’ve cried. She actually woofed at me (not a common thing) and got what she wanted. It seems like a small thing to most dog owners, but a HUGE thing for us. And something that tells me that trusting her is the right way to go.

That’s not to say that she’ll never have another accident. But I now feel better about leaving her in the house without having to enclose her. She’s just fine.

Leave a Reply

