Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Final Decision: No Second Dog

on July 1, 2009

I was browsing Pet Finder the other day when I ran across a dog at the Lakes Region Humane Society. Scoobie, a somewhat chubby dachshund, was surrendered by his family due to financial reasons.  He’s a bit of a senior dog, supposedly sweet, doesn’t bark, is housetrained and loves people, dogs and cats. Perfect.

I’ve been thinking a lot about why I want a second dog. I would love for Jasmine to have a doggie mentor…a dog to help her become more…well…dog-like.  Learn to play. Romp. Wrastle.  You know, doggie stuff.

I put in an adoption application for Scoobie after trading emails with the coordinator at the shelter. I’ve been thinking about him. I know we could give him a good home, but how would it impact Jasmine? My greatest fear is that I disrupt the progress she has made. I also love her deeply (as if you couldn’t tell that from this blog), and I would never do anything that would cause her distress. Jasmine is happy now days. She romps through the yard. She loves snuggling with us on the big bed. She has a good dog’s life, and she is enjoying it to the fullest.

I told Hubby how conflicted I was about bringing a new dog into our happy home.  I’d love to give Scoobie a home. But would it hinder Jasmine’s progress? Would it take away from her?

He finally asked me WHY I wanted another dog. Jasmine is happy. I am happy. I told him that I wanted him to have a dog as well. HIS dog. A dog who follows him everywhere. A dog who greets him with the same joy that Jasmine greets me.  He told me that while it would be nice, he’s not the dog person. I am. So it wasn’t necessary for him to have HIS dog. As long as Jasmine and I are happy, he’s happy.

And we are. I love the life I’ve given Jasmine and the companionship she gives to me.  I don’t think I want to disrupt that. So once and for all, no second dog.

UPDATE: One of this blog’s readers saw this post and is now going to adopt Scoobie!!!!!!  YAY!!!  I’m SO happy that Scoobie is getting a home and that I had some small part in his adoption.  WOW!

6 responses to “Final Decision: No Second Dog

  1. regina marie says:

    How about getting a second dog so that Jasmine will have company? i’ve read that doxies do not like being alone… they always prefer to be around someone. they might become the dynamic duo together!

    • mwdonnelly says:

      That was one of the things I thought might happen. She could make a friend and have a companion. Or she could totally ignore the dog like she has ignored other dogs she’s been around. She visited a friend’s home for two weeks and pretty much ignored the other dog (not a dachshund). The only dogs she’s ever responded to has been her own puppies. Other than that…nada.

  2. Erica says:

    Oooh — Scoobie is adorable! Wonder if I could convince the hubby, as we have been talking about a 2nd dachshund…

  3. Erica says:

    My husband is on board for adopting Scoobie — with any luck, we’ll be approved & we’ll have your blog to thank for helping us find the newest member of the family!

  4. Erica says:

    Just a quick note to let you know that Scoobie is doing great! Thank you so much for leading us to him!

  5. Link says:

    And they all live happily ever after…

Leave a Reply

