Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Flying Dog

on June 22, 2009

Jasmine has been exploring the lush back yard and growing more confident.  Each day, she goes a little further, following the aromas of unknown critters that pass through our yard.  The nice thing is that she comes back to me when I call.  When we first got here–fuhgettaboutit!  She was crazed with all those new scents.  These days, her recall is very good.

What *I* love about the recalls is the way she responds.  I call her to come and clap my hands.  Her head pops up and she sets out in a full boar run towards me.  If you’ve never seen a dachshund run, you’re missing out.  Running dachshunds look like they are flying–and they are.  It seems that Jasmine’s legs don’t even touch the ground as she flies through the back yard towards me.  Her ears flap as the wind whips them about.  She runs with considerable speed and grace–she’s by my side in seconds.

Of course, the side-effects of a flying dog is hat seconds after running into the house, she’s on her bed in a deep doggie coma.  Running is hard work!

One response to “Flying Dog

  1. Link says:

    Charlie once tripped and fell while running and flipped completely over and landed on his legs and kept running without missing a beat. I once thought an animal with four legs can’t trip and fall–I guess I was wrong.

    Now many years later, his hearing and vision are not so good. He often will hear me call to him when outside, but will start off in the wrong direction. Only after repeated calling to him does he start to zero in per the correct direction. Once he gets closer to me than no problem. Poor guy!

    I agree though…it is such a joy to watch a Dachshund run to you, etc. Glad Jasmine is well!

Leave a Reply

