Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Making Demands

on June 18, 2009

Jasmine has been staying home with Hubby–he now works from home.  I was hoping that the two of them would strengthen their bond because of all the time they have been spending together.  It hasn’t happened yet.

What HAS happened is when I am home, Jasmine is demanding my undivided attention.  The sound of her running back and forth from the family room to the basement door signals that she’s excitedly waiting for me to close the garage door and get upstairs.  Hubby says that she has started to whine and bark (yes, bark!) when she hears the garage door open because that’s the sound of my return.  When I open the door and walk into the kitchen, she furiously wags her tail and runs circles around me.  Oh so cute!  I greet her, give her love and pets.  I then fix her dinner (and ours) and go on with the evening’s activities.

I have been working a lot lately including working at home in the evenings.  Last night, I had to finish some work on my computer.  After dinner, I sat in the recliner and started working on the laptop.  Jasmine was having an energy spurt (yeah, one of those–so much fun to watch), and she bounded around the coffee table with one of her favorite toys in her mouth.  When she noticed that I wasn’t looking, she stopped, dropped the toy and came running over to my chair.  She sat in front of me and did a cute little hop.  I laughed and praised her and went back to my work.

All of a sudden, she barked a couple of times.  Then she…well…how do I describe it…complained.  Roooowrrrr…yawmmm…yawmmm…yawmmm.  That was the noise.  I tried not to pay attention to her.  I didn’t want to reward her barking and complaining and jumping on the chair.  She kept it up for a minute or two, and when I didn’t react, she walked around to the other side of the coffee table.  I then put down the computer and called her over for some serious lap time.

I realize that this transition has been a bit difficult on her.  She had me 24 x 7 for almost two years, and now she has me for a few hours each day.  I need to temper her demands for my attention by putting them on my terms (be the pack leader…), but I also need to give her some time every day for the comfort and love she desires and deserves.

I do have to say that I’m thrilled that she IS vocalizing and communicating more.  It’s another big step forward for her.

Leave a Reply

