Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Daddy’s Home!

on May 19, 2009

Hubby finally made the final move out here.  Jasmine and I have been here by ourselves since mid-April, and while Jasmine has been enjoying my undivided attention, it’s been pretty lonely here.  Hubby was out on the left coast wrapping up things with the other house while I got our house settled and got my Mom moved and settled.

In this last month, Jasmine has really blossomed.  She has come out of her shell much more.  She bounces around with happiness (her current nickname is Bunny), she romps around the yard sniffing all the new critter smells, and she’s getting more vocal and outgoing every day.  Hubby has been here for just one day, but I can tell the difference between how Jasmine interacted with him before and now.  She’s less nervous with him in the room than before.  While she’s not bounding with joy due to his presence, she seems more accepting of him.

He’s going to be working out of the house, so she’ll be with him all day Monday through Friday.  I think it’s the start of a beautiful friendship.  I have a feeling that this time together will help them build a bond that has been missing since Jasmine came into our lives.  At very least, I think there will be a truce between these two.

I do have to admit that I love that she misses me and is so happy when I come home.  But I think that would be the same regardless of her relationship with Hubby.  I just hope Jasmine finally accepts him as a pack member…one that she can trust and rely on.  As much as I love Jasmine, I know he loves her just as much.

Leave a Reply

