Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Work Day Dog

on May 14, 2009

I started my new job last week, and Jasmine has been adjusting to the new schedule.  Actually, she’s been exceptionally good.  I’m so proud of her.

We get up around 6.  We go downstairs, Jasmine goes outside and then I feed her breakfast.  I make my breakfast (which always includes an apple) and my coffee and I take it into the family room.  I eat as I’m watching the news, and Jasmine sits at my feet hoping for a bit of apple for dessert.  She gets it, of course.

After breakfast, I check my work and personal email (oh yes, I do) and then I head upstairs to take a shower.  Jasmine follows me.  She particularly likes it if I drop my robe on the floor.  She loves to sleep on my clothes.  In fact, she likes to hide behind my long dresses in the closet.  🙂  After I am coiffed and dressed, we go back down stairs, I fix my lunch, and Jasmine settles into her bed in the kitchen.  I close off the doors to the kitchen and go through the basement door to the garage.

When I first started leaving in the morning, she cried at the basement door.  She does that sometimes, but more often than not, she’s generally resolved to wait for my return.  When I do, the joy in her face and her little jumping body makes coming home such a treat.  I greet her and pet her and give her lots of love.  She runs to the door outside, tail wagging all the way, and romps in the yard.  She then gets dinner and a treat.  She loves the words, “Have you been a good girl?”  She jumps and wags and spins awaiting for the next set of magic words, “Would you like a bone?”

I marvel at how resilent and flexible she is.  She’s taken to my work schedule well.  However, if I do try to work at home in the evening, she tends to demand some attention beforehand.  And of course, she gets it.  She deserves so much more.

2 responses to “Work Day Dog

  1. Kate says:

    I’m glad to hear Jasmine’s doing so well with your new schedule! Isn’t it nice to get such an enthusiastic welcome when you get home from work?

  2. Link says:

    Very endearing, wonderful, heartwarming, etc.

Leave a Reply

