Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Laps Are Good

on March 8, 2009

We had to vacate the house yesterday for an open house.  Before we left, I took a shower.  During that time, I placed Jasmine in Hubby’s lap.  While she was a little reluctant at first, she calmed down and fell asleep.  It was so nice to see…in the past, Jasmine wouldn’t stay in his lap and would attempt to jump off.  I made sure she was situated and comfortable before heading to the shower.  Given her back issues, the last thing I wanted was for her to jump off Hubby’s lap.

We went to Starbucks and I went inside to get our beverages.  When I came out, Jasmine was in Hubby’s lap.  She happily was accepting his pets and enjoying the first day of true sunshine we’ve had in many days.  Jasmine not only allowed Hubby to pick her up, but she was comfortable and happy in his lap.  Did the crate rest make her more amenable to his affections?  Regardless, it was so nice to see this new and unexpected step forward.

Here are a couple of pictures of her contentment (taken with my phone).

Ooooh!  That's the spot!

Ooooh! That's the spot!

Jasmine definitiely is taking a liking to Hubby

Jasmine definitiely is taking a liking to Hubby

2 responses to “Laps Are Good

  1. kate says:

    Those pics are adorable. Jasmine is clearly enjoying the loves.

  2. Link says:

    Cute pics!

    Charlie, my doxie, is 12.5 yrs old.

    He is smooth and black/tan just like Jasmine!!

    Charlie has been such a joy as it is quite apparent Jasmine is for you.

    Isn’t it wonderful?

    His health has been going down hill. He sits on my lap constantly and lays on top of me if I lay on the couch.

    I love it. I do try to curtail him jumping up and down on the couch as I want no further back problems. I lift him up and down but he always comes over to me or I ask him to come.

    It is so endearing when he is on my lap. Doesn’t take long for him to get drowsy and to fall asleep.

    Does Jasmine snore?

Leave a Reply

