Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Tail Wagging

on March 3, 2009

Jasmine isn’t normally a happy-go-lucky pup.  She gets excited about things like food (“Are you hungry?” puts her into a tail-wagging frenzy and the word “bone” makes her leap for joy) and “coming up” on my lap or on the bed (which she hasn’t had much of since her back injury).  Otherwise, she’s somewhat stoic.

Lately, Jasmine’s been wagging her tail much more often.  When I ask her if she needs to go outside.  When she’s exploring the tablecloth cave under the accent table by the bed.  When I look at her and talk to her.  When I rub her rump (butt rubs are a favorite of hers…I don’t know why).

I love to see that tail up and swinging.  It means that I brought a bit of fun and happiness to her day.  Hubby keeps remarking about how she’s so happy to see me and be with me.  That wagging tail, the bright eyes, the little skip in her step make our days brighter.  When you have a dog that saw no joy in the past light up…well, it makes everything worthwhile.

2 responses to “Tail Wagging

  1. kate says:

    I’m glad Jasmine has so much to wag her tail about. Every time I see Jordan’s little tail up and wagging, I feel the same way, and when he’s pouncing around playfully, my heart melts. It’s so good to be able to bring that kind of joy to our pups.

  2. dreamdachshundrescue says:

    What wonderful work you have done with her. Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

