Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Crate Rest is Hard

on February 22, 2009

Jasmine is feeling better.  MUCH better.  Much better as in, “Why are you putting me in jail, Mom?  What did I do wrong?”

Hubby decided that Jasmine should be out with him.  So he let her out and laid on the floor with her for an hour giving her scratchies.  Of course, he had to get up to go use the bathroom, and when he got back, Jasmine had jumped into the leather chair.  And of course, when he went to get her down, she jumped off of it onto the floor.

Props to him for even admitting this to me…I was a bit peeved.  But the point is that we have to watch her like a hawk.  We have been letting her out for potty breaks, meals and a tiny bit of “love” time, but in general, she’s been in the crate for about 23 hours a day.  The vet told us to stop the meds (to prevent irritation, kidney and/or liver problems with long-term use of the anti-inflammatory).  So, she’s now drug free and pain free.  The next weeks of rest should assure that her recovery is not short-lived.

It breaks my heart to have to crate her.  She doesn’t like it (well, except when she wants a nap, and then the warm fluffy blanket makes te crate her favorite place).  Mostly, she doesn’t like NOT being next to us or on us.  She craves that physical connection with us.  As do I.  Jasmine is such a love and such a joy to be around.  I love seeing her happy, and even though I know this is the best think for her, it’s SO hard to do what’s best.

3 responses to “Crate Rest is Hard

  1. Angie Harvey says:

    Thank you for writing this, I am experiencing the same thing with my dachshund, Maggie, she is at this stage right now and I am having a hard time keeping her crated.

    • mwdonnelly says:

      Angie,

      Keep up the crate rest and follow your vet’s orders. Your dog needs to heal, and the best thing you can do is to give her time and rest. Jasmine is fine now due to all that rest (her injury probably wasn’t as bad as some, but still…). On the advice of others, I kept Jasmine crated in a wire crate so she could see me all the time. I also stayed with her as much as I could. She stayed still and quiet most of the time–but then again, that’s the way Jasmine is; I’m lucky.

      I hope Maggie heals well. Good luck to you both.

  2. Link says:

    Hi.

    Just discovered your blog and really like it and have subscribed. I have a doxie site too.

    How does one send you a private message and/ or e mail?

    After nine years of keeping him safe, Charlie recently tweaked his back.

    One evening he cried when I handled him and adopted a different posture and that is how I knew I had a problem on my hands. It is unclear how is recent condition came to be.

    He was put on pain meds, steroids and confined rest.

    He is fine now thank god! It seems like Jasmine has done very well too thank god. Best wishes on her continued recovery.

    Link

Leave a Reply

