Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Jasmine’s Herniated Disc: Day 5

on February 10, 2009

In just a few days, I’ve learned a lot about Canine Intervertebral Disc Disorder, or IVDD for short.  I’ve learned that we are lucky, and that Jasmine has a good chance of full recovery.  I’ve learned that the there are primarily two courses of treatment–medically and surgically, and we’re taking the more conservative (medical) approach due to the lower severity of her injury (drugs and rest).

Jasmine is doing okay, but she’s certainly not the bounding happy pup that we know.  While she can walk, she’s a bit limpy on her bad hind leg.  She is unable to squat to eliminate, but has figured out that she can walk and do her business.  I’ve been following the advice I’ve received and making sure that she doesn’t move around much and is helped to/from her bathroom spot.

On the advice of the kind people who contacted me after my last post, I joined a Yahoo Group called Dodger’s List.  It’s a list for dog owners (mostly dachshund owners, but not exclusively) that have dogs with IVDD.  Right off, they give you their “tried and true” advice on how to deal with IVDD.  They also provide support, answer questions and give you hope for your dog.  They asked me questions about Jasmine’s care and provided some useful insight into her meds–particularly the anti-inflamatory (Metacam) and its side effects.  Because of them, I now have Jasmine on a course of preventative medication (acid reducer) to ensure that she doesn’t develop stomach issues from the medications.

I know that this is going to take some time to heal.  She has been fairly unhappy about the crate confinement.  However, she has been letting me know when she needs to go out (unlike before) using her recently-discovered voice.  While it was not amusing to have to get up at 4:30 a.m. to let her out, I was still very happy that she let me know…another step forward.  This sly little dog has also learned that the little “gotta go” whimper is also a great way to get out of the crate for scratchies (under the guise of needing to go out).  Smart little thing.  She’s eating well–a good sign that she’s not in so much pain that she can’t eat.

Thank you all for your concern and kindness.  I’m kind of going nuts with worry right now especially since we had to board her this afternoon in preparation for our move-in at the house in New Hampshire.  If there was any way that I could have avoided boarding her, I would have.  They have strict instructions to give her strict crate rest except for bathroom and ice cream breaks.  I’m hoping that her favorite blanket and the ice cream give her a little comfort and happiness while we are away and that she’ll just sleep and be well until we return.

2 responses to “Jasmine’s Herniated Disc: Day 5

  1. Ben says:

    Oh the poor thing! Hang in there and get through the hard parts of being a pup parent. She may not understand the crate confinement but she’ll be much happier when she’s feeling better thanks to it.

    Also, thanks for blogging about this. It’s not something that’s easy to learn about without automatically letting your thoughts jump to the worst. The honest, life-goes-on perspective is refreshing and assuring.

  2. Hedy says:

    Your blog was really helpful in helping me find info about my doggie’s slipped disc! Thanks so much!! Why reinvent the wheel, right! My best to you and your doggies!

Leave a Reply

