Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

The Fun in Everything

on February 2, 2009

Do you know what I love about dogs and children?  They can find the fun in anything.  Leave a kid in a room with a shoe box, and suddenly it’s a pirate ship.  And leave a dog in a room of boxes, and suddenly it’s a maze–to navigate, to hide in, to climb on.

I haven’t been Ms. Fun lately.  I haven’t had much time to cuddle and play with Jasmine.  And on the one occasion where she was just fed up with me, she let me know it by pointedly “going” in the house, right in front of me.  NOT fun, but I got the message.

Jasmine has been faithfully following me everywhere as I have been running around the house and packing like a madwoman.  Occasionally, Jasmine will simply disappear.  I call her and call her and…nothing.  Sometimes I’ll suddenly hear her tags jingling and she comes running through the maze of boxes.  But I have also had to go looking for her (she’s a stealth dog who makes little noise), and she’ll be wedged between boxes somewhere, sitting or laying peacefully and looking at me expectantly, “Well, what took you so long?”  I have now taken to calling “Jasmine, Ollie Ollie Oxen Free!” when I’ve been looking for her.

She also loves running through the living room maze when we’re going from one side of the house to another.  Instead of just running down the hall, she diverts through the living room, stops, looks at me and then tears around the coffee table after me.

Jasmine helps me find the fun in everything.  With her, it’s not hard to find.

2 responses to “The Fun in Everything

  1. Erica says:

    It should be ‘Ollie, Ollie Doxen Free’!

Leave a Reply

