Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Little Rest For The Worried

on January 16, 2009

I’ve been busy this week with sorting through my art studio.  I’ve been deciding what to take with me and what to give away.  Giving away stuff is harder than it seems, and giving away art supplies has been stressful.  First, plowing through 10 years of supplies has been very labor intensive and time consuming.  Finding the right people to take them (I’ve donated my excess supplies to classroom teachers) has been even more taxing.

The process has also been taxing on Jasmine.  We have had “strangers” in the house every day this week–often more than one at a time.  Jasmine has been everything from worried to extremely nervous.  She has been watching from afar, sneaking closer, and just as we discover her presence, she has been bounding away–just to start all over again.  There have been people she has distinctly been uncomfortable with.  When these people have been in the house, she has found a box to hide behind or a corner to snuggle up to.  I don’t know if she was picking up on my stress or if she had felt the same vibe I felt…some of these people just rubbed me the wrong way.

Throughout the day, she has had little rest.  When people have been visiting, she has been constantly on the move–shucking, darting, sneaking around, peeking around corners, running away, running back–all the time, looking as cute as can be.  I’ve tried to help calm her when these people are around, but she won’t relax unless we’re alone and I’m sitting down.  So, sorting and packing has been tough on her, but she’s getting a ton of exercise (as am I) and she’s getting used to people coming in and out of the house.  With Hubby’s large family, she’s going to need those skills in the future.

Leave a Reply

