Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

A Very New Year

on January 2, 2009

It’s a new year.  A very new year.

This year, we’re moving and changing our lives.  I wonder how Jasmine will react to all these changes.  Right now, we’re in the beginning stages of packing and renovating our home.  For the last two weeks, our house–and our routine–has been in complete disarray.  Jasmine, the little trooper that she is, has been with me at every step.

As usual, she follows me everywhere.  These days, “everywhere” means hours of moving from one room to the next while I’m sorting through stuff, tossing things in the trash, making and packing boxes, demolishing a bathroom floor (and tiling and grouting a new floor) and much more.  I’m moving around much more than she’s used to.  Which means she’s getting much more indoor exercise than she is used to.  It’s a good thing since it’s the rainy season, and we don’t get out on walks much.

She watches me with curiosity and a bit of nervousness.  She obviously doesn’t understand what’s going on and why things are different.  As I stated in my last post, I think she can sense my stress as well.  I love having her close to me and I reach out for some pet therapy when I’m feeling blue (which included today, when the back window of my convertible ripped out right before a rain storm) or when she’s looking a bit in need of a good scratching or lap session.  Hubby and I have been spending evenings vegging in the living room.  I realized that she needs more attention, so I’m bringing her up on the couch as I veg for some much needed lap time while I veg.

The next few months are going to be hard, and I’m hoping that Jasmine actually benefits from it.  It might make her a bit more resilient and adaptable.  I hope.  Regardless, she’s with us and she’s loved.

One response to “A Very New Year

  1. Happy New Year!!

    Sorry things are so stressed out right now but at least you have Jasmine to cuddle with & a good cuddle with a dachshund will make anything better.

    I’m doing Mona’s DWB friends playing in snow post this Sunday so if you’d like Jasmine be a part of it you still have time to send a picture.

    Good luck with the move…Mona’s Mom Sarah

Leave a Reply

