Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Stress Transfer

on December 30, 2008

I’m stressed out.  I’m facing packing 12 years worth of stuff into boxes and shipping it across country, remodeling my house and facing a whole new life back East.  In the last weeks, we’ve suffered setback after setback–from a freak ice storm in New Hampshire that KO’d some of our plumbing in our house to a very shaky real estate market to small things like a bad grout job (and subsequent re-grout job) on our bathroom floor.

All this stress, and all these changes, is having an impact on Jasmine.  Dogs are sensitive to our moods and feelings, and I know Jasmine can sense my unease.  She’s as sweet as ever, but since the routine has changed (Hubby’s office shut down for the holidays) and the packing has begun, she’s been a bit stressed as well.

We went out to run errands this afternoon, and when we returned, I had found that Jasmine had vomited on the carpet.  I’m not sure if it’s because she had a rawhide treat and it didn’t sit well or because she was as unbalanced and stressed as I am these days.  Things will get better, but it’s hard to tell a dog that.  We continue to snuggle with her whenever we can, but we’re just in a daze with all the work we have to do over the next month.  And I need to take time out to be with her and give her the attention that she needs–no matter how busy I am.

I can’t wait until this is all over and we’re settled again.

Leave a Reply

