Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Couch Wars

on December 19, 2008

It’s my own fault.  I know this.  But it still irks me.

Today, I had to go out to run errands.  I got out the door, started the car, and then remembered that I left something I needed in the house.  I turned off the car, went back in the front door…and I saw her.

A little head popped up above the top of the couch, ears perked, eyes bright.  Yes, the white damask couch with the down cushions and pillows and the 8-way-hand-tied-oak-frame.  My favorite piece of furniture.

Oh, that BAD BAD girl.  Jasmine was up on the couch in the very (warm) spot that I had been sitting in just a few minutes before.  I walked over to the front of the couch, gave her a low, growly NOOOOOOOOO and told her to get down.  She didn’t.  She looked at me feigning disinterest.  I picked her up, told her “down”, and put her down.  I then placed various “booby trap” and blocking items on the couch to keep her from climbing up again.  I picked up the item I had forgotten and then left.

But I didn’t leave.  I waited a minute and then went back inside.  I think she knew I had been lurking outside, because she was sitting on the carpet at the edge of the foyer and looking at me.  Hm…

I went out and ran my errands.  When I returned she was NOT on the couch, but a couple of the “booby traps” (magazines) were askew on the floor.  She had obviously tried to climb up on the couch and had dislodged them.

So begin the Couch Wars.

Leave a Reply

