Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

My First Dachshund Encounter

on December 18, 2008

This is a little off the topic of Jasmine, but I wanted to share how I was first introduced to Dachshunds.  They’ve been my favorite dogs since childhood simply because of one funny little encounter–I’ve loved these little dogs ever since.

When I was around six years old, my parents took my brother and I over to visit one of their friends–a grand lady with a grand house.  This lady had two little doxies–both smooth reds–who were cute, sweet and very friendly.  I think what I liked about these dogs, besides the fact that they were so cute, was that they were smaller than me.

Our previous dog–a german short-haired pointer named Sukoshi was a huge, lumbering bundle of love.  While Sukoshi (which means “a little” in Japanese…a play on words for this dog) was my protector and a loyal family member, he couldn’t come with us when we emigrated to California from Okinawa, Japan.  So while I was familiar with dogs (including little rat dogs that were owned by friends of ours back in Okinawa), the dachshunds were a bit of a wonder to me when I met them.

Their wagging tails, their floppy ears, their cute little trot and gait, their unabashed desire for pets and treats–oh, I was in love.  I frankly don’t remember much from that period except for strong memories of events that really made an impression, and these dogs were burned into my memory and my heart.

The grand lady gave my brother and I dog biscuits to give to the dachshunds.  We had never seen Milk-Bones before in our lives, so we thought these cute cookies were for us.  As the dachshunds clamored for the treats around us, my brother and I ate them.  Boy, were they crunchy.  And boy, were the dachshunds NOT amused.  “Hey Mom, those munchkins ate OUR treats!”

That was my first dachshund encounter.  And look at where it has taken me (as I type over the dacshund happily sleeping in my lap).  Those dogs made such an impression that Jasmine is here with me today.  And just like those first dachshunds, I love her wagging tail, floppy ears, cute little trot and gain and unabashed desire for pets and treats.  At least these days, I don’t eat the Milk-Bones.  At least not in Jasmine’s presence! ;-D

One response to “My First Dachshund Encounter

  1. Buddies says:

    I must admit, they are lovely dogs with sweet faces.

Leave a Reply

