Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Jasmine the Whiner

on December 14, 2008

First of all, I really like the fact that Jasmine doesn’t bark.  I’ve experienced excessively barky dogs.  In fact, our new neighbor next door has one.  It scared Jasmine while we were outside…I ignored it and encouraged Jasmine to “go.”  Thankfully, she did.

Instead of being barky, Jasmine whines.  Really really really softly.  It’s kind of cute and (on occasion) annoying at the same time.  She whines and does the “pounce and run” when she wants up on my lap.  She whines when we’re out for one of her favorite activities–going for a car ride.  In that case, I think she wants my attention WHILE she’s enjoying the ride.  Sorry Jazzy, I can’t do that and drive safely.  She whines when she wants something and is trying to convince me to do whatever it is she wants.  I generally have to guess what it is based upon the time of day.  I never quite know if I got it right, but regardless of whether I did–or not–my actions generally provide her with an action that is pleasurable.

I know I’m reinforcing a bad habit–whining.  It could get annoying, and then I won’t be able to get her to stop.  However, she doesn’t ask for much and is not entirely communicative, so I’m encouraging her to TELL ME when she wants something.  Sometimes she gets it (lap time) and sometimes she doesn’t.  But at least she’s communicating with me.  I like that.

Now if I could only get her to whine and paw when she needs to go out.  I never did get her targeting and ringing the bell.  However, I DID get her to recognize the bell as the “go outside” noise when she’s half a house away.

Progress.  Baby steps sometimes, but we’re always moving forward.

One response to “Jasmine the Whiner

  1. Buddies says:

    I’m not sure about whinning – might start off as endearing, but can get annoying after awhile.

Leave a Reply

