Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

The Craft Fair

on December 11, 2008

My husband and I had tables to sell our handcrafted items at his company’s holiday craft fair today.  I didn’t want to leave Jasmine at home alone all day, so I decided to take her with me.  I could leave  her in his office while we manned the tables and sold our items (I make jewelry and gift items and my husband makes turned bowls and vases).

I brought Jasmine in along with her “doggie bag.”  I have a little red quilted bag with a water bowl, a bottle of water, poop bags, a towel, an extra leash, treats, baby wipes and enzyme cleaner that I take with me when we go out anywhere–just like a diaper bag for a baby.  That with her paw-print fleece pillow from the car, and we were in business!  We arrived at hubby’s office and she paced around nervously.  He has a real office–rare these days in Silicon Valley’s land of a thousand cubicles–so we were able to lock the door and keep her there undisturbed.

We set up for the show and I went up to check on her and give her a bathroom break.  After the break, I brought her into the craft fair.  My lovely little markeing ploy!  Every person who walked our aisle stopped to say hello to Jasmine–thus giving them time to look at our items.  While I think she was a little stressed, she sat in my lap and took it all in–she even put her head down on the table while she was watching people pass by.

I kept her there for about 30 minutes and then took her back up to the office.  It was another great opportunity to socialize her, and she did a great job!

I was a little peeved, however, at the clueless idiot that came up behind me, hovered over Jasmine and stuck her hand in Jasmine’s face trying to pet her aggressively.  She started spouting about how she has two dogs blah blah blah and cooing loudly at Jasmine with as much calm, gentle behavior as a tackle going after a quarterback during the Super Bowl.  I blocked her hand and told her that Jasmine was skittish.  She didn’t take the hint, so I ignored her and not-so-subtly shielded Jasmine from her with my body.  She finally went away.

I guess that her owning two dogs has taught her NOTHING about how to approach dogs.  If Jasmine had been even a wee bit aggressive, that woman might have one less finger.  GRRRRRRRRR.  I’m so proud of my little pup!

Leave a Reply

