Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Broken Rules

on December 4, 2008

I’ve been writing a lot about how I’m starting to cave to Jasmine’s doggie wiles.  It’s hard not to.  What is it about a cute, furry face that makes us go to mush?  What gives a pudgy paw or a cold, wet nose the power to make us do things we never thought we’d do?

Jasmine is SUCH a good dog.  She’s sweet, loving, and pretty good with discipline.  I, on the other hand, stink at keeping the rules I’ve made.  She has no idea, of course, that I’m breaking my own rules.  She just knows that she gets to do stuff when I allow her to.  To her, the rules still exist.  I hope.

Which of my rules have I broken?

  1. No human/table food for dogs. That includes treats.  That went out the window the first time I was making a turkey sandwich and she was looking up at me, wagging her tail and smacking her lips.
  2. No dogs on the bed. This one went down one Saturday when hubby and I were lounging in the early morning and the pup wanted to come up.  Hubby (I like blaming him for this) said to me, “oh, let her up…it’s fine” or something like that.  That was the end of “no dogs on the bed.”  I type this as Jasmine lies next to me on the bed, wrapped in a fleece blanket.
  3. No dogs on the couch. You already know about this.  Thanksgiving, having my Mom over, and my tryptophan-addled brain caused this lapse.  Now Jasmine tries to jump up on her own.  I’m still in control though…she only comes up when I invite her up.
  4. Only dog toys for the dog. This went out the door when Hubby decided that it was cute when Jasmine stole one of his socks.  She likes his stinky socks.  But she’s afraid of him.  Go figure.
  5. Dogs should not wear clothes. I always shook my head at people who put cutsey clothes on their dogs.  That’s until I got Jasmine.  You see, she has such a short coat.  It  gets cold here.  We keep the heat down low to save money, and she seems so cold.  I love crafts and making things.  So I made her a paw-print fleece coat.  And another.  When we move to New Hampshire, she’s going to need a Parka.  So, little dogs with little hair should wear clothes.  I can’t help it if the clothes make Jasmine look even cuter than she is…if that’s possible.

You know what?  These rules aren’t important.  When it comes to the important stuff–safety, security, love–I’m solid on the rules.  And so is Jasmine.  She comes running to me when I call.  When I say “leave it” she leaves it (which helps when she’s about to eat cat poop).  She stays on leash when we’re out for a walk.  And she gets plenty of lap time with me.

We’re good.

5 responses to “Broken Rules

  1. Marjorie says:

    Oh, I know EXACTLY what you mean. I was really strict about the no-dogs-on-couch rule, and since I’m actually allergic to them (darn), I was told I needed to keep them out of the bedroom. That lasted for . . . 1 night. Where would a doxie sleep if not snuggled up with mommy? It’s in the rules! Like you, I still have my standards–they can only come up on the couch when I say so!

  2. Yes, fexibility is key to living with dachshunds! The only one of the rules still in force in our house is the no dogs on the bed. This is because two have had back problems and they want to jump off!

  3. Ben says:

    I’ve broken every one of those although I’m doing the best at no human food. I limit it only to times where it won’t be associated with us eating or cooking so I still avoid fostering begging.

  4. Marla says:

    The “no human food” one is a toughie. Ours did love vegetables, though, & that’s a pretty easy & guilt-free cave. Apparently the word for vegetables in dachshund is “roo-roooo!” Carrots & red peppers were special favorites.

  5. kate says:

    There are very few rules for the doxies in our house, mostly because I find it so hard to stay stern with them. The only one I’m pretty good about is limiting their people food intake to healthy things like fruit and veggies, with the occasional sliver of cheese or chicken (roasted or baked, never fried).

Leave a Reply

