Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Too Cute

on December 1, 2008

I think Dachshunds are the cutest dogs in the world.  Of course, I’m a little biased.  🙂

A Dachshund’s personality shows up in the funniest ways.  The dog can just sit there and melt your heart.  Their little silhouette is adorable.  Their funny little walk/trot as they try to keep up with you (or zoom past you) during a walk just has to make you smile.  Jasmine is a delight every day–even when I’m soaked to the bone waiting out her fear and stubborn streak of not wanting to do her business in bad weather.  Even when she’s piddled on the carpet not three feet away from me.  Even when she won’t eat unless I’m there to keep her company.

It’s the little things that keep me laughing and shaking my head in delight.

Take this morning.  I took my shower, and as usual, Jasmine was keeping watch in front of the shower door.  However, when I got out of the shower, I noticed that she made herself into a little “Pig in Blanket” using the bathroom rug.  She pulled the rug over to where she wanted to be and wrapped herself in the rug.  Amazingly enough, she kept herself enrobed in the rug long enough for me to get some pictures.

Does she know how cute she is?

Does she know how cute she is?

Too cute.  She’s just way too cute.  I feel all my defenses just crumbling away.  I have to keep being vigilant or she’s going to take over this house!

3 responses to “Too Cute

  1. yolie says:

    “Going” to take over the house?? I got news for you, I think she already has….she is just training you slowly so you won’t notice…its not so bad…she’ll give you that “aren’t I the most adorable thing” look, and then you will melt and forget that she really rules the house :-).

  2. mwdonnelly says:

    Wait. She’s training ME? No…say it ain’t so!!! LOL!

  3. Kismet says:

    She absoLOOOTly knows how cute she is and there’s no question that she’s already in charge of the house. I know because I took over my mom’s house in a matter of days …

    Kismet
    Another Dachshund …

Leave a Reply

