Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Jingling Tags

on November 22, 2008

Jasmine wears two ID tags on her collar–her Petco engraved tag with her name, address and phone number on it and her dog license.  The nice thing about the tags is the jingle jangle jingle that lets me know where she is.  Well, at least when she moves.  The bad thing about the tags is the middle-of-the-night body and ear shaking that causes the tags to jingle jangle jingle way too loudly.  Jasmine wakes me up out of a nice, comfy sleep almost every night.

I love ingenuity.  The store that sells the lovely personalized ID tags also sells the Tag Silencer–little rubber gaskets that fit around the tags.  They come in 3 shapes–heart, bone and circle.  Brilliant!  No.  I still want to hear my little darling as she creeps through the house.  Keeping her close and knowing where she is mostly prevents “stealth pees” and other mischief.

Of course, defiant stealth pees also can occur…just like the one she pulled off on Thursday.  She peed about three feet away from me.  I was sitting on the couch.  I looked over and saw a dark spot right next to her doggie bed.  *sigh*  I didn’t catch her in the act, so I couldn’t scold her.  Why oh why doesn’t she just wave her paw and tell me she needs to go?  Or was I so engrossed in my web development project that she was trying to get my attention and I didn’t catch the sign?

Okay, so I got off topic.  Even with the 2 a.m. full-body shakes, I think I’m going to keep the jingling tags.  Jasmine is a quiet dog.  She doesn’t bark.  She is sneaky and I often find her standing right behind me when I thought she was in another room.  Without those tags, I think I would never quite know where she was and what she was doing unless she was sitting right next to me (and even then, I tend to not REALLY know).  A Stealth Dog requires un-stealthy tags.

Leave a Reply

