Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Simon & Hueys Sold

on November 8, 2008

Simon & Hueys, the makers of Soft Training Treats (Jasmine’s favorite treats), have sold their company.  I was going to replenish my supply–I was dangerously low.  The local doggie boutique was sold out, so I went to the company’s website to make a bulk purchase.  The website was gone.

I tried calling their phone, and their voice mail was full.    Uh oh.

I did a Google search for the little morsels, and I found a couple of online stores selling them.  But better yet, I found an ad on Craigslist selling “overstock” of these treats.  I contacted the seller, and it just happens to be one of the owners.  She said that they sold the business to Paws Gourmet, Inc. Paws Gourmet was in the process of learning and perfecting the manufacturing process.  They were clearing out their excess inventory.

I ordered a bunch to stock up.  Unfortunately, they got my order wrong (not surprising since they’re probably in shut-down mode), but I got MOST of what I ordered.  So Jasmine is assured that her favorite training treat is on hand for some time.  I did find some substitutes (I particularly like Cloudstar’s Soft & Chewy Buddy Biscuits, but they are a bit pricey) but I still love the Simon and Huey’s product.  They are tiny, made with only a few ingredients and Jasmine loves them.  That’s good enough for me.

5 responses to “Simon & Hueys Sold

  1. OH NO! My rat terrier thinks he can’t ride in the car with out his ginger treats!

  2. mwdonnelly says:

    Don’t worry…Paws Gourmet bought the company, including the recipes and processes, and are in the process of learning how to produce the treats. You should still be able to get them! But I do know how you feel…I was very sad to see them gone!

  3. I’m going to have to try these- or rather my doxies are going to! lol They sound so good, maybe I will, too!

  4. Kim says:

    You should check out http://www.urbanleashandtreat.com they are still carrying the Simon & Huey treats with the new companies logo. They will have them in stock by the end of this week.

Leave a Reply

