Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

I Always Get The Wrong End

on November 7, 2008

I love that Jasmine trusts me.  She lets me fiddle with her feet, look at her teeth, put Revolution flea/tick/heartworm treatment on her, pick her up, give her a bath, and wipe her poopy behind when she comes in from the great outdoors.

It’s also true that she trusts me to watch her back.  Literally.  She trusts me so much that she’s always facing outward when she is on my lap.  She watches everything around her while I watch her…um…back.  Back side.  Rump.

Last night she was up on the bed with us getting lots of lovin’ from hubby.  Of course, this meant that her “fun” end was facing him, and her “not so fun” end was facing me.  As usual.  He had her adorable little face and head accepting pets and I had…ew…a gassy back end.  I tried petting her as well, and she STILL didn’t turn to face me.

Because she trusts me to have her back.  She doesn’t need to keep an eye on me…she knows I’m safe.  I know it’s true, but I like having the “fun” end too.  I wonder if I can teach her the “About Face!” trick?

Leave a Reply

