Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Not a Water Dog

on November 4, 2008

Jasmine is not a water dog–in many ways.

First, Jasmine doesn’t like sprinklers, rain or even wet pavement.  Sprinklers and rain are particularly bad.  She cowers away from both.  I have a feeling this has to do with how she was treated at the Puppy Mill.  They often hose down the pens to clean them–and the dogs as well.  This kind of treatment would make any dog a bit phobic.

Second, Jasmine also doesn’t like to DRINK water.  She rarely drinks from her water bowl.  We noticed this when we first got her.  In order to make sure she’s properly hydrated, we mix her wet food with a lot of water before mixing it into her dry kibble.  It makes a meat-flavored water/gravy.  She laps it up before she eats the kibble.  Problem solved.  The only time I hear her drinking water is after a walk.  Otherwise, we have a lonely water bowl.

Third, hen it comes to baths, Jasmine has been less hesitant and a lot less scared of the experience.  I think the warm water is beginning to become more pleasurable for her, and she gets lots of praise and love when she’s done.  Of course, the sweet smelling shampoo isn’t her favorite…she tried to roll in cat poop the day after her last bath.  What I don’t get is if she loves the sweet smell of Bounce fabric softener, why not the shampoo?  Maybe they should make Bounce-scented shampoo for doggies?  I’d buy it!

Now that the rainy season is upon us, we’re back to cowering under the roof overhang while going outside to “do her business.”  I can’t wait to see what it it’s like when we’re in snow country!

5 responses to “Not a Water Dog

  1. Erica says:

    I think I can offer some good news for you here (or at least I hope so):

    1) Darwin will be 4 next month and continues to hate rain, drizzle, showers, puddles, mist, etc. That will never change.

    2) Although Darwin was a reluctant drinker for years, he now seems to have settled into a pattern of a big drink after most meals. It took at least 3 years, but we’re finally there.

    3) Darwin tolerates baths — not his favorite, but he doesn’t try to leap out of the sink & that’s better than nothing.

    4) And now for the GOOD news…..Darwin LOVES the snow! Despite hating the rain, he bounds through snowdrifts taller than him like there’s no tomorrow. He ADORES it and hopefully Jasmine will as well.

    Once you get out here, we’ll have to a arrange a wintertime doggie playdate!

  2. mwdonnelly says:

    We’ll definitely need some doggie mentoring from Darwin. Jasmine needs to learn the basics of short-legged snow navigation, and Darwin would be a perfect teacher! Does he have snow attire? 🙂 Can’t wait for them to meet!

  3. Cara Psquale says:

    My family and I recently rescued a mini daschund, Maya. She is almost 2 yrs. old. She is the sweetest little thing ever!!! We are still amazed that she is really ours to keep!!!! I just found this web site and am loving it. Maya hates going outside to do her “business” if it’s wet, drizzly, or cold!!! She is so stubborn!!!! I have been very consistent on taking her out approx. every 2 hrs. and praising her but she still will “poop” (3 times now) in the house at odd times. Like in the middle of the night after she had already gone twice that day. She never gives me any signs that she has to go either! Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!! One more thing I just thought of….we can’t find a coat that fits her properly. We’ve tried a couple of different ones now. We live in western NY so it’s going to be frigid soon. Do you know of any companies that make something especially for doxies?

  4. mwdonnelly says:

    Welcome to the blog, Cara, and congratulations on welcoming Maya to your family.

    Dachshunds are somewhat difficult to housebreak. I don’t know what her circumstances were before she got to your home or how long you have had her, but you must think of it as starting from square one. If she’s getting up in the middle of the night and pooping in the house, then you might think about restraining her in a crate at night. Dogs generally don’t soil where they sleep, so confining her might help. As for her going outside during rain or cold, try to find an area that is outside of the weather where you can take her. We have a covered walkway, and that’s where I take Jasmine when it’s raining. She still doesn’t like it, but she’s learned that “going” will get her inside sooner rather than later.

    As far as dog coats are concerned, I’ve found that the best way to fit your dog is to do it in person. I tried buying her a coat at Petco, and even there, it was hard. So I’m reverting back to making her “clothes”. There are companies that make clothes for doxies, but I haven’t ordered any from them. Sorry.

  5. Sher says:

    Just wanted to say that I also have a baby named Jasmine. I got her the first of September, she was 3 days old. Her mom had no milk and she was the only surviving sibling. I bottle fed her, but also had a rescued dachshund mix with 5 pups that helped me nurse. She never took to Jasmine as one of hers, but she was willing to help me out from time to time. Jasmine loves the water. We have to be careful if water is in the tub, because she jumps in to play. Jasmine is now 8 weeks old and it is time for me to give her up. We rescue dogs and cats and adopt them out. I cry every time I think about losing her even though I know I cannot keep every rescue. She is my first real baby, and I love her dearly. It is breaking my heart, but all my dogs are 80 pounds or more, and she is just 3.2. She plays with them like there is no difference in size, but I am afraid she will get hurt accidentally by them. Take care of your Jasmine, they are precious babies.

Leave a Reply

