Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Finding The Right Companion

on November 2, 2008
Don't you want to take me home?

Clark says, "Take me home, please!"

We went to see a prospective companion Dachshund today.  Clark, a 3-year-old male black-and-tan dapple was just the cutest little guy.  I was introduced to him through the rescue organization–the Southern California Dachshund Rescue–that linked me with Jasmine (they have foster homes in the San Francisco Bay Area where we live).

Clark is a real sweetie.  His markings are just beautiful, and he’s a sweet and happy dog.  Unfortunately, his energy level is WAY above Jasmine’s–not a great match.  I think he’d be best in a home with another higher-energy dog as well as with kids over the age of 10.  He is enthusiastic, loves to play and is going to make some family a great dog.  Unfortunately, our family isn’t right for him.

My husband says that I’m going to have a problem finding a dog like Jasmine.  Dachshunds are generally high-energy dogs, and Jasmine is definitely NOT your typical Dachshund.  She’s so very mellow and sweet, and while she has a stubborn streak, she is generally agreeable and easy going.  We’d like to find a dog with a little more energy than she has to help her come out of her shell, but not so much that it drives her (and us) crazy.  Am I going to be able to find what we want?  I think so, but it’s going to take some time and patience.

In the mean time, Jasmine has taken another small step forward.  She was on the bed with us this morning, and instead of wanting to jump off while I went to take a shower, she stayed with hubby on the bed.  Of course, she commandeered MY pillow in the process, but that’s besides the point.  She has never stayed with him while I wasn’t around, and she was comfortable being with him and accepting his pets.

You go girl!

BTW, if you live in the Bay Area and are interested in Clark, he’s available for adoption.  please check out his profile on the Southern California Dachshund Rescue Site.  Click on the link for the Available Rescue Sweethearts. He’s even cuter than his pictures!

UPDATE: It looks like Clark has found a new home!  His status on the rescue web site has changed to “Adoption Pending!”  Yay!!!!

2 responses to “Finding The Right Companion

  1. MA says:

    I hope you find a friend for Jasmine soon! If we had the room, we would get Kona a buddy… 🙂

  2. Debbie says:

    I totally think you’ll find a mellow dachshund. The 3 I had prior to my current dog were. I’m sure you’ll have fun looking!

Leave a Reply

