Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Pedicure? Nope.

on October 28, 2008

Jasmine doesn’t like her nails clipped.  She also doesn’t care for her paws to be touched.  That made it hard for me to soak and treat her abscesses in the past, but it’s also causing issues for my maintaining her nails.

Regular clippers haven’t been an option because she’s so squirmy, so I decided to try to grind her nails down with a Dremel.  Being the total sucker that I am, I ordered the “Peticure” Safe Guard fitting for a Dremel.  This is a cover for the Dremel to shield most of the grinding tool and head with adjustable holes that expose a small area to grind the nail.  Frankly, it’s a crappy $20 piece of plastic.  I thought it was going to be more sturdy and provide some other benefit than a housing/shield.  Nope.  They also have a line of battery-operated rotary tools with the housing built in, but you’re better off with a more versatile Dremel rotary tool (and one that’s more reliable AND less expensive as well).

The issue, however, isn’t the Peticure.  It’s the noise and vibration of the Dremel coupled with a resistant and scared dog.  If the Dremel is off, Jasmine’s fine–she sniffs it and looks at it with curiosity.  However, once that motor starts running, her fear kicks in…and her legs kick out.  I barely got the tool to her nail when she started pulling, bucking and kicking.  Whoa!  I stopped and had her calm down.  I then tried again…and as soon as the Dremel turned on, she wanted NOTHING to do with it.

I’d love to keep her nails trimmed myself, but she doesn’t like hubby holding her and would even like it less if I were holding her and he was doing the trimming.  So it’s off to the groomers we go.

I suppose you can’t win all the battles, and in the grand scheme of things, this is a tiny one.  I’d rather win the “come when called” battle (she’s doing well with that one).  This one, I can let go.

UPDATE: So I took Jasmine to the groomer at Petco to get her nails trimmed.  She put Jasmine up on the table and Jasmine stood there (albeit, scared to death and tail tucked between her legs) and tolerated the nail trimming without even a slight squirm.  She stood there, completely still and got her nails trimmed.  Grrrr!!!  Why wouldn’t she do that for me?  I picked up a set of trimmers while I was there.  I’m going to try this again.

One response to “Pedicure? Nope.

  1. that girl says:

    Our doxi doesn’t like his nails clipped either, which stems from some incidents of bad clipping in the past by the husband. We bought the whole Peticure and it’s just OK. Like you guys, one of us has to hold the dog while the other uses the tool. Luckily, our dog is not afraid of it, but it takes a while to file his nails down substantially. So long, in fact, that we don’t always get as far down as we need to. And he still “clicks” on the kitchen floor.

Leave a Reply

