Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Poop Patrol

on October 25, 2008

Note: Don’t read this if dog poop grosses you out.  Really.

That being said, baby wipes are my friends these days.  Why?  Because of Jasmine’s recent poop residue incidents.

It started when I brought Jasmine on the bed one day, and I noticed that she left behind a poop stain on the sheets.  EEEEEEEEEWWWWWWW!  Apparently, she had “poop residue” on her behind, and when she came up on the bed, some of it smeared onto the sheets.  Oh, gross.

The worst incident was what I call the “pearls of poop” incident.  One day, I noticed something dangling off Jasmine’s backside after she came into the house.  Apparently, she had ingested one of my hairs, and…how do I put this…the hair had co-mingled with her poop in a way that made the poop into a string of pearls that were dangling out of her butt.  She was not happy to have it there, but she was less happy when I cleaned it up and pulled the remainder of the hair out.

Unfortunately, I have now resorted to checking Jasmine each time after she goes.  She gets a quick wipe with a baby wipe to ensure that she’s poop-free.  And about 50% of the time, she is.  That means that 50% of the time, she isn’t.  Thus, I need to continue to clean her up if I want a poop-free house.  I’m on permanent poop patrol.

Oh, the joys of dog ownership.

Have a nice weekend!  😀

2 responses to “Poop Patrol

  1. Marla says:

    Been there, done that, & cleaned up afterwards.

    My cousin used to call the “residue” a Klingon attack. I think a quick swipe with a wipe is better than having the dog try to get rid of it by drag-racing, which just means more cleanup.

    Once you get an animal, or a kid, it’s all poop patrol, isn’t it?

  2. MA says:

    Eeewwww… LOL this subject is all too familiar in our house! The poop hanging on your hair thing… yah- gross… but it happens to me too!!! LOL. Damp paper towels are our best friends after walks and potty breaks- to wipe Kona’s paws and his privates. LOL

Leave a Reply

