Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Watch Dog

on October 20, 2008

Jasmine isn’t the best watch dog.  When someone knocks on the door, Jasmine doesn’t bat an eyelash.  My sweet, often comatose dog just continues in her soft slumber while a potential axe murderer awaits behind the door.  Unfortunately, Jasmine does growl (at times) when hubby comes through the door.  I don’t know if it’s because it’s him or because the door opening has startled her…well, I do but I hate to admit it.  She growls at him when he comes into the room too quickly as well.

Imagine my surprise today when she growled for no apparent reason.  She was chewing on her rawhide bone when she suddenly growled.  I looked at her for a second and she growled again.  I put aside my laptop and went into the kitchen to look out the window.  I had forgotten that I had set out some items for a local Freecycler to pick up.  She was in the driveway walking back to her car with the box I set out for her.  I had not heard her pull up, get out of the car or walk on my front porch.  But Jasmine had and growled to warn me.

No, she’s not the best watch dog in the world but she’s showing some signs of promise!  I love these little behaviors…it makes me happy to see her do normal doggie things.  Go, Jasmine!

One response to “Watch Dog

  1. Marla says:

    Except for the growling at your husband, this sounds very reasonable to me. You don’t need to be warned about someone knocking, but you didn’t hear the Freecycler (LOVE Freecycle!), & she did warn you about her.

    I think Jasmine is brilliant!

Leave a Reply

