Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Good For Jasmine, Good For Me

on October 15, 2008

Jasmine doesn’t like walkies.  She gets very hyper-sensitive.  She jumps at fast movement (oh, those EVIL tumbling leaves jumping out at her to bite her), slinks her shoulders and tucks her head down, peeks around every hedge and tree to make sure nothing is threatening is there…oh poor ‘Fraidy Dog!  Jasmine would rather be smack dab in the middle of one of her fluffy pillows than doing something as frightening and taxing like exercising!

Truth be told, if it wasn’t for my concern for Jasmine’s health and well being, I’d be smack dab in the middle of one of my fluffy cushions rather than walking her around the neighborhood.  It’s simple–we both don’t like walks. I hate exercising.  I always have, with the exception of some cardio/aerobic/dance classes that are more fun than exercise.  Otherwise, I find exercising tremendously tedious, boring and a pain in the rear (literally and figuratively).  I’d rather be a couch potato.  So would Jasmine.

When I got Jasmine, I knew that the responsibilities would make me do things I don’t like to do.  I walk Jasmine to help socialize her and because she needs the exercise to stay healthy.  That it benefits MY health is a bonus.  That we both DON’T like it…well, I know that it’s my responsibility as a dog owner to do whatever I can to give her a healthy, happy life.  So, daily walks are going to be in the cards for a long, long time.

I DO like walks when my husband is along with us.  He and I get to spend time together, stroll, enjoy the day and talk.  It’s a nice way to just be together without the hustle and bustle of daily life.  🙂

One response to “Good For Jasmine, Good For Me

  1. Mary Anne says:

    LOL- this post made me smile 🙂 Before we brought Kona home, like you, I “dabbled” in working out here and there. Not until we brought him home that we realized that he needed to be walked and socialized so he can lead a happy and healthy life. My husband and I walk him a couple of miles a day and along the way, we’ve picked up human friends and furry friends- not to mention lizard enemies that Kona chases off into the bushes. Our daily family excercise has been good for us- I’ve lost 15 lbs, Kona has lost his puppy pudginess, my husband, well… he doesn’t need to lose weight, but we both agree that our daily walks has been good for our minds, soul and more importantly our marriage.

    Keep it up the good work with Little Jazz. With patience and consistency on your part, hopefully soon she will become the happy and socialized pet you want her to be. And I hope it happens soon, because the look Kona gives to us when we’re out for a walk is priceless. He looks up at us with a big smile with his eyes shining bright as if he is saying “Thank you mom and dad for taking me out to play” is absolutely priceless. Can’t help but give a big smile back.

Leave a Reply

