Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Love and Defiance

on October 13, 2008

I had a two-day conference this past weekend, so I stayed at a friend’s house near the venue to avoid driving hours to and from each day.  Of course, that meant leaving Jasmine alone with hubby for a couple of days and a night.  Jasmine was not thrilled with sole cohabitation with my husband, and she showed her displeasure by peeing on the carpet while he was out at the hardware store.

He had taken her out before leaving, so he knew it wasn’t because of her “needing” to go…it was a clear message that she was NOT happy to be with him.  She sulked all weekend.  She refused to eat on Saturday night, and ate just a little of her breakfast on Sunday morning.  When it was time to go to bed, she went into the bedroom to make sure HE was in bed, and then came trotting out to her pillow in the living room.  She spent the night there rather than in the bedroom in her soft, cozy bed with the hand-crocheted blanket (no, I didn’t crochet it FOR her…she claimed it as her own).

When I got home on Sunday afternoon, she was joyous.  She wagged her tail, jumped in my lap, licked my face, and did everything to let me know that she missed me and was glad that I was home.  My husband looked at me happily and told me that he was SO glad that she loves me so much…that I’m her PERSON and she’s MY dog.  Having her come through such a bad experience to be able to bond with me so closely–even with the knowledge that she won’t build that kind of bond with him–makes him happy.  She treated him like he was an axe murderer (you should see the looks of mistrust she gives to him), and all he cared about was the fact that she could feel and express joy.

That’s just the kind of guy he is.  Jasmine and I are really lucky.

Leave a Reply

