Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

There’s a Dachshund In My Bed

on October 10, 2008

I once said that I wouldn’t let Jasmine up on the bed anymore because I was afraid that she would want to sleep there all the time.  Well, hubby loves it when Jasmine crawls over to him for scratchies, so she’s been up on the bed with us fairly often.  Now, she doesn’t get to sleep there, she just gets to spend some time with us on the bed.  When it’s time to turn out the lights, I put her back into her bed on the floor next to me, and she quickly settles down and goes to sleep.

Some mornings when I can’t face the 6:15 a.m. wake-up call (ala doggie jumping up on the side of the bed with wagging tail and smiling face), I have been known to also pick her up, place her next to me and go back to sleep.  She snuggles into me quickly and is snoring within a minute.  When I awaken and get out of bed, she rolls on her back and tries to look cute to stall the inevitable…removal from the big bed.

Hubby says that he wouldn’t mind if Jasmine slept in the bed with us, but I’m trying not to let that happen.  There’s nothing wrong with it, but I’d like the dogs (yes, I’m already considering that we’ll have more than one!) to have their own space and us to have ours.  I don’t mind that Jasmine comes into our space and shares it with us, but I’d like to keep the consistency of her sleeping in her bed at night.  It’s SO hard to do…snuggling with that sweet little dog is really nice.  🙂

Do you let your dog(s) sleep with you?  Have they taken over your bed?


2 responses to “There’s a Dachshund In My Bed

  1. Nikki Wright says:

    My story has a mixed message on this issue.

    Our last dog was a long haired dachshund and we didn’t originally want to let him sleep in the bed but he was a baby when we got him, and a nighttime screamer when he was separated from us; so he kind of forced our hand in the matter. (We didn’t want neighbors calling the cops, it sounded like we were beating a human child when we made him sleep on the floor.) Once we all settled into the routine we loved it. He enjoyed sleeping under the covers and we enjoyed our little family bonding time at night.
    It is in the dachshund nature to be comfortable burrowing under covers and cuddling right up to you instead of lying at your feet like other dogs. This makes for a very intimate sleeping buddy. Since they are so little they don’t take up much room and ours didn’t move very much once he was asleep.
    In the morning we would wake up to find him with just his head and front paws out of the covers lying on his back in between us like a little baby, often both of us would have our head on my husband’s arm. Cuteness overload.

    My BIGGEST warning if you let her sleep in your bed is that you provide a pet ramp. Our little guy got in the habit of jumping up and down off of the bed and we did have to put him down for a major back injury. We think we know when it happened. I locked him in the bedroom when a baby was visiting and I thinking he was bouncing up and down non stop. It broke our hearts as he was still young and very healthy when it happened. But I would say if we had trained him to use the ramp properly, this would not have been a problem.

    Having him sleep in the bed with us was a wonderful experience.

  2. Carrie says:

    My little girl, Phoebe, began sleeping in the “big bed” around 1 1/2, once her potty training was solid. She is now 3. My newly adopted rescue dog, Toby, who is 6, is also in the habit. I LOVE having them to snuggle with, and they are such a great size that they just sort of fit in around you.

    I would say that having them there depends on a few things – whether or not you want them there (some people don’t like animals in the bed) and if you are providing enough leadership elsewhere that the dog will not become overly dominant by having such a lofty status – the bed is the ultimate place in the house – the softest, the highest to keep watch from, and smells like you the most – a dominant dog kept in a bed will assume dominance elsewhere.

    Two words of caution: 1. As the poster above, do have a ramp or train the dog to wait to be lifted and let down. Jumping down from such a height can cause serious back strain.
    2. Keep an eye out for possesiveness or territorialism (again, the dominance). My little girl has a nasty habit of sometimes being very grumpy growly when woken up in the morning, especially if she has burrowed under the sheets. This must be corrected and not let get out of hand (as it did the day I woke her up and she bit my nose!)

Leave a Reply

