Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Easy Rider

on October 5, 2008

My husband has recently started using public transportation to get to work.  His company subsidizes the use of CalTrain.  We’re about 3 miles away from the train station.  Since the weather is still good, he’s been taking his bike to/from the station and the office.

The exercise has been great for him, and it has also prompted me to dust off my bicycle and start riding again.  Of course, Jasmine is not going to be able to keep up with a 10-15 MPH ride, so I ordered a doggie basket for my bike.  It is supposed to arrive via UPS tomorrow.

We’ve been taking weekend rides as well as our Sunday walks down to Starbucks.  The Starbucks trips give all of us about 45 minutes of walking time, while the rides have been shorter–around 30 minutes.  However, Jasmine has not been able to share in our rides, so I’m looking forward to having her with us when we explore the neighborhood.

I’m not sure how well she’s going to take to the basket.  I know that she loves to go for car rides, but those rides are more enclosed and she also has room to run around in the back seat.  She also has a tendency to play as we ride in the car–she loves playing “turtle” with her pillow and she has also discovered that burrowing under the fleecy cushion of the back seat sling is great fun.  The basket–the Solvit Tagalong Deluxe–is nice and soft on the inside, but it’s not made for jumping, running or burrowing.  It has a safety leash to keep her from jumping out and a sun shield for warm days.

We’ll just have to see if she takes to the new mode of transportation–and whether my currently-weak thighs can take another 11 pounds of pedal weight.  🙂  I’ll let you know!

Measure twice before ordering!

Measure twice before ordering!

UPDATE: Um, make sure to measure your dog BEFORE you get one of these carriers. Jasmine, a moderate sized mini at about 10.5 pounds, just fits carrier.  She has to curl around a bit to fit, but she seems okay.  I was worried at first because I couldn’t get her to sit down it it and it seemed WAY too small.  Of course, with anything new she’s somewhat uncomfortable, so I’m going to take small steps to get her accustomed to the carrier before we venture out on the bike.  I put one of her blankets in there to make it a bit more familiar and comfy.  I have a feeling that a little pink cushion will be inhabiting the bottom of the carrier soon!

UPDATE 2: AAARRRGGGHHHHH! Unfortunately, the metal bracket that comes with the carrier does NOT fit on my bike.  My bike’s front brakes are wired through the handlebar stem and down the front stem of the bike where it then yokes onto the front brakes.  Of course, the brake line is in the exact area where the bracket’s brace leans onto the stem.  The brace is about 1.5 inches wide and pushes against the brake line.  I spoke to the owner of the shop where I bought the basket, and he told me that I’d probably have the same problems (or worse–instability) with other baskets.  So, it’s probably time to think about a doggie trailer.  Oh boy!

Disclaimer:  All discussion about products on this blog are made independently and are solely stories and/or opinions based upon personal experiences with the products.  I am not affiliated with any company producing or selling these products.

One response to “Easy Rider

  1. Sophie says:

    Thanks so much for putting all that information online! I have been looking at getting a basket for my mini doxie, Charlotte, and was doing some research and found your blog. Have you looked into the wicker baskets? Charlotte is about 12lbs and is 14 inches from neck to tail, and this wicker one seemed to be the biggest I found online. Also, their braces seem to fit with bikes that have the brakes on the handlebars. I hope you find one that works for you and Jasmine!

Leave a Reply

