Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Reverse Sneezing

on September 28, 2008

We were out for our daily walk yesterday evening when we encountered a little cock-a-poo-ish dog and its owner.  The dog was doing this wheezing gulping thing that was SO familiar–Jasmine does this every so often.  It’s almost like she has the dry heaves but she also gulps for air.  I thought it was something serious, but as I described it to the vet, he didn’t think it was anything to concerned about.

The owner just said, “Don’t worry, it’s just reverse sneezing.”  The owner did something I didn’t think of–he took a video tape of the incidents and took it into the vet (symptoms mysteriously disappear when you take a dog into the vet).  The vet took a look and told him that it was nothing to be concerned about–reverse sneezing.

I looked it up on the Internet.  While it sounds like the dog is going to pass out and die, it’s relatively harmless–and mostly untreatable.  It could be an allergy, an irritant, a result of eating or drinking, driven by overexcitement…anything.  So Jasmine’s wheezing and gulping, while loud and disconcerting especially in the middle of the night, isn’t dangerous.

Strangely, she often stops this if I take notice and pet her on the head.  Attention ploy?  Probably not.  Distraction cure?  Maybe!

4 responses to “Reverse Sneezing

  1. Ben says:

    I have two reverse sneezing dachshunds right now and it breaks my heart every time…even if it is harmless.

  2. Lacey says:

    I’ve read on the internet that lifting their nose and rubbing their throat helps calm whatever is going on. I’ve tried it on my dachshund and it seems to help.

  3. yolie says:

    All of my dachshunds have done this. My vet says it has to do with small dogs having a small trechia (?) and it is like a muscle spasm. My wire does this quite a bit and it seems to happen when he gets over excited. I usually just try to distract him or massage his throat. It goes away pretty quick but yeah I feel bad that they are so distressed even if for a few seconds :-(.

  4. Michelle M. says:

    My 2 year old Dachshund does this and I panic every time! The Vet says it’s harmless, and he even had an episode right at the window while paying the bill @ the Vet… all the nurses and techs had a laugh and confirmed, again, that it is “just his reverse sneezing”… he looks so distressed when it’s happpening = ( and if it happens in front of people/dogs we don’t know, they look at me as to say “What the hell are you doing to that dog?!?!?!” It makes me feel terrible!!

Leave a Reply

