Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

A Second Dachshund?

on September 10, 2008

I have been giving a lot of thought to getting a second rescued dachshund after we move to the new house.  Here’s what I’ve been thinking.

Pros

  • A properly socialized dog could help socialize Jasmine.  I’d love her to learn how to greet other dogs and not be so afraid when one approaches.
  • Jasmine would have a playmate and a companion.  Jasmine plays, but not very often (maybe once a day).  Another dog would engage her to play more often.  I saw her play with puppies, and it was so gratifying to see her romp around with them.  I don’t see that in her very often, and I worry that she isn’t having as full of a life as I can give her.
  • Hubby would have a dog that would be a companion to him.  Okay, there’s no guarantee that the second dog would like my husband any more than Jasmine does.  However, I’m hoping to adopt a dog that has lost its loving home rather than a dog that has never been socialized or has no known background (stray).  It will give my husband the chance to enjoy a sweet, snuggly dog in his lap that’s not scared of him.  And maybe–just maybe–that will help Jasmine get over her fear of him as well.
  • Another dog is just more to love.  Two little faces looking up at me…oh, heaven!

Cons

  • Two dogs = 2x the expense.  Jasmine’s expenses have been high.  A lot of that stems from the fact that she is a rescue.  We expected that her medical bills would be higher than the average dog.  A second dog would double that expense, and we’ll have very different economics after we move (hubby is retiring).  Can we afford the second dog?
  • 2 dogs = 2x the work.  Baths.  Poop patrol.  Flea and tick treatments.  Nails.  Boarding.  Brushing.  Food.  Play.  Noise.  Dirt.  Doggie beds.  Training.  Treats.  Walks (well, okay, that doesn’t count).  Doggies require time and attention, and two dogs…well…
  • I don’t want to take away attention from Jasmine.  It may sound silly, but I don’t want to make Jasmine feel that she’s not the heart of my heart.  I don’t want the second dog to detract from the relationship she has with me.
  • We may not get a mellow, quiet dog like Jasmine.  We like Jasmine because she’s so mellow–and somewhat UN-Dachshund-like.  She doesn’t bark.  While she’s stubborn, she follows commands well.  She doesn’t dig or run after “prey.”  She doesn’t chew anything we haven’t given her to chew.

We have a lot of time to think about it, so I’m not really going to worry about “having” to make a decision soon.  But this has been on my mind…

Multiple dachshund owners, I’d love to hear your experiences of having more than one of these lovable creatures.  Or are you too tired to type?  😉

16 responses to “A Second Dachshund?

  1. Ben says:

    Neither of mine are rescues but yes, adding the second has been a mixed experience.

    1) The lessons they learn from each other are not to be ignored. It speeds up the training process in some areas but can also bring them back a step in others.

    2) The built-in socialization keeps the dogs busy with each other and more independent. Unfortunately, bad and good habits seem to be transferred at random.

    3) Pack mentality kicks in like nobody’s business. My first dachshund was fine off-leash with other dogs, now he’s the first to show aggression to protect the new guy, teaching him that aggression is okay. It’ll be a pain to undo that damage.

    4) Two dachshunds = double the love.

  2. Erica says:

    We’re thinking about a 2nd as well. Darwin will be 4 in November & I think that would be the perfect time for him to gain a playmate. We’re worried about a number of cons as well, but I think it could be a good thing in the long run. And everyone I know with 2 dogs has said that the 2nd dog learns from the 1st.

    Good luck! And hugs to Jasmine!

  3. yolie says:

    We have always had multiple doxies, or rather they have had us. Our first was a well socialized, spoiled and very smart little girl, I brought in a not too socialized, starved to half his size and scared of everyone rescue little boy. He did not know how to play, or even wag his tail. Well she was having none of that, I brought her a new playmate and she was gonna play with him whether or not he willingly participated! Long story, short, he turned into a wonderful little fellow(and he did learn to wag his tail, well…. it was more of a zigzag than an actual wag since he didnt have much practice). A few years later, I got another little rescue guy, and they got along fine. Doctors bills increased-yes, dirtier house-yes, but 3 times the laughs. They are all gone now, had them for about 15 years, but I still reminisce about those 3 characters constantly. And just recently we got another rescue, and I will be picking up a kennel dog in a week along with a breeder reject. I guess it was meant to be as I will be a mom of 3 again. It obviously is a personal choice and whether you just keep Jasmine or get another one, I am sure you will be just fine. 🙂

  4. Brenda Bartlett says:

    I have 3 dachshunds, one of which was a rescue, and she’s part dachshund, part beagle, and I wouldn’t trade them for anything in the world! I’ve done the single dachshund many, many years ago, then I got another, then another, and finally one more, making it a total of 4 back then, and you don’t know what you’re missing just having one! Yes, multiple dachsies are an added expense, but they’re definitely cheaper than multiple children! 🙂 I won’t have anything less than 2, the antics they pull are wonderful (most of the time!), and the more the merrier! I hope you decide to get at least one more, you definitely won’t regret the fun they’ll provide for you!

  5. Debbie says:

    Had Daisy and got Jasmine. Daisy passed away got Violet. Jasmine passed away got Lily. Violet passed away now we just have Lily. I prefer 2. I think having a little dog friend is good for them. Also gives you a break occasionally. I didn’t find two to be any more work.

  6. The Mommy had 5 of us dachsies & fostered about 20 more fosters off & on for 3 years until she got sick and now it’s just me. I miss my 4 brothers & I know the Mommy would take some more in if she could. All of us were rescued and rescue is the way to go.

    Samantha was an only dog for 14 1/2 before she died & the Mommy wishes she had gotten her a playmate.

    Mona

  7. mwdonnelly says:

    Thanks to you all for your food for thought. I’m going to keep thinking (and blogging) about the ongoing experience with Jasmine and our attempts to socialize her, and the benefits of bringing a second dog into our home and our hearts.

    I really appreciate your feedback! And Mona and Mommy, you are truly amazing…20 fostered dogs? You are stars!

  8. Cindy van Laar says:

    Multiple dachshunds are a no brainer to me. We’ve had the solitary dachshund and as many as three at a time. I agree, the more the merrier. They love to romp together, groom one another, snuggle and always keep one another within “scent-range.”

    The multiple dachshund family becomes well-socialized and less likely to be agressive or overprotective of their owners. They are more eager to please in pairs as they vie for the adoration of their owners. Our 13 1/2 year-old dachshund mix and our pure bread long-hair, champion blood line 4 year-old are inseparable. When our 13 1/2 year-old joins his other pals in doggie heaven, I want to find a companion for our 4 year-old who will be lost without him. My husband insists the expense is too great and that “she’ll get over it.”
    I’ve owned dachshunds for 40 years. They have my vote as best in show..hands down.

    I’m looking for a high quality dog food (which is how I stumbled upon your website). I’ve been feeding the breed-specific Eukanuba Dachshund and am tired of paying a high price for a gimmick. Does anyone have any recommendations? I’ve read “the Dog Food Project” website and found it to be very useful. I’d appreciate any suggestions.

    Thanks!
    Cindy

  9. Daniel says:

    I’m glad to have found this page! I have a 10 year old, Jack, who is the world to me. Lately he’s been showing more separation anxiety when I leave the house, and I really feel like he’d benefit from having a companion. I’m torn about introducing another dog into Jack’s home. I have enough love to give, but don’t want Jack to feel like his territory has been invaded or that he isn’t as important anymore.

    I’ve been asked by a friend to adopt his 8 year old. Oscar is a sweet boy, and only needs a new home because his dad has to travel for a new job. I have decided to bring Oscar home for a trial run with my Jack and see how it goes for a few days. Wish me luck!

    • mwdonnelly says:

      Congratulations on Oscar! I think that, sometimes, the universe helps us with our decisions. We have met some dachshunds in need, but none of them have “clicked” with us or Jasmine. Perhaps someday…

      Thanks for visiting the blog. I wish you, Jack and Oscar the best! Please let us know how it turns out!

  10. Stephanie says:

    Thank you for posting about this… my husband & I wandered into a pet store this evening & they had a long-haired male dachshund that is 3 1/2 months old. He was absolutely precious & pretty much “claimed” me while we were playing with him. The thing is we have a 18 month red haired smooth female dachshund at home already. She JUST got potty trained 2 months ago & I don’t want her to see a puppy have an accident & think it’s okay, too. I’d love for her to have a friend to play with while we are at work, but I also don’t want her to feel like we are trading her in or ignoring her when & if we get a puppy. My heart is telling me to have them meet & if all goes well, just bring him home… but my mind is telling me I should wait until she’s older. My parents have 2 dachshunds, one a rescue & the youngest one still has accidents on the floor. They love them to death, but sometimes get frustrated with all the work involved with an older one & a younger one. Decisions, decisions!!

    • mwdonnelly says:

      Please please PLEASE don’t buy that dog from the pet shop!!!

      This blog is all about Jasmine, a puppy mill breeder dog. Where do you think that pet store dog came from? Not from a reputable breeder, but from a puppy mill. The very type of place that kept Jasmine in a wire cage and forced her to have litter after litter. That’s until her litters were too small to justify keeping her. She was then sold at auction and luckily purchased by a veterinarian who purchased 49 dogs and gave them to rescue organizations for adoption. Jasmine’s pads were deformed (and still are) due to her spending her entire life in a wire cage. She was never socialized, never loved and lived in squalor in order to bring you that cute puppy in the pet shop window.

      Please go to a rescue organization if you do decide to get a second dog. They DO have puppies as well as adult dogs that have lost their homes and are looking for the love and companionship they deserve. You could find an adult companion for your dog that is already house trained and is good with other dogs. Many dogs that are being fostered by rescue organizations are those that have been surrendered due to the financial circumstances of their owners. They are loving, socialized and truly wonderful dogs. PLEASE do consider this alternative…it might be the best thing for your dog and your family!

      Best to you,

      Margaret (and Jasmine)

  11. Theresa says:

    Hi Margaret…

    I stumbled upon your blog while searching for advice about adding an additional friend to our family. We already have one male dachshund who just turned one year old this October. Nickel was purchased from a puppy mill breeder, however we were unaware of this at the time of purchase. My point is that although I agree with your statement above regarding the pet shop puppy to a point; I also feel conflicted by it. Dosen’t this puppy deseve the same love and care that you are giving to Jasmine?? Perhaps even more so being that he (possibly) came from the puppy mill environment.. Where is a person to go now to make these purchases in “good conscience” We bought from what we thought was a legitimate source that turned out to be a puppy mill. In a sense I feel like I own a very expensive rescue dog. I am simply trying to say that all these puppies/dogs benefit from some form of rescue be it a pet store, neighbor, puppy mill or stray they all require love. I think sometimes we can get caught up in the political mission of it all and forget to simply focus on the importance of the issue. The nurtureing and caring of an animal… I encourage you to follow your heart to a reasonable level and give an animal love no matter the environment you may find it in.

  12. mwdonnelly says:

    Hi Theresa,

    I do not agree with your argument. While I agree that the puppies deserve the love and care that Jasmine has received, you are NOT rescuing a puppy from a pet store. You are fueling the puppy mills. Buying a pet from a pet store–especially KNOWING that they come from a puppy mill–supports the supply chain. If you don’t buy puppies from pet stores, there will not be a demand for them from pet stores and thus no demand for puppy mills. Yes, this is simplistic. But think about products on store shelves. If no one buys them, the manufacturers will cease to make them. And puppy mills are just that–puppy manufacturers. It’s a business–and an ugly one at that.

    That you tried to do the right thing…that’s great. But we all need more resources to understand how to find and purchase dogs from reputable breeders. I hope that happens. In the mean time, all we can do is vote with our wallets. Your statement about being “conflicted” is what many people do when buying at a pet shop. They do so on impulse, don’t really understand the implications of their actions, and often get carried away by the emotional bond with the cute puppy rather than understand that what they are doing actually hurts other animals. Believe me, I’ve been to the local pet shop and felt the same thing when seeing those cute puppies…oh, I should rescue them! But buying them just perpetuates this cruelty, and I won’t have any part of doing so.

    Please check out the Best Friends website to learn more about Puppy Mills, the business of pet shop dogs, and what’s going on to stop it:

    http://network.bestfriends.org/initiatives/puppymills/default.aspx

    I’m sorry you were duped by a puppy mill. I hope Nickel is happy and healthy!

  13. mwdonnelly says:

    And, by the way, we finally DID get a second dachshund! Here’s the link to the blog post:

    https://jasminethedachshund.wordpress.com/2011/11/27/a-second-dachshund-we-finally-did-it/

  14. Chuck says:

    Best thing I did was get a second dachshund. They love eachother.

Leave a Reply

