Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Another Happy Reunion

on September 3, 2008

We flew back in town this morning, and 15 minutes after we put our bags into the house, Jasmine was back in our arms and romping in the yard.  She’s thinner, hungry and a bit tired, but she’s happy to be with us.  She’s laying on her bed at my feet, looking at me with sleepy eyes and a full tummy.

The new house is awesome, and I can already envision Jasmine running around the back yard in full rompy dog mode.  I’m not sure how happy the chipmunks are going to be, but she’s going to be thrilled!

I spoke to my brother-in-law about the invisible fence.  He has one for his dog, a beagle.  He told me that there are no adjustments he knows of for different sized dogs (at least his system doesn’t have them) and he isn’t sure how appropriate and harmful it would be for a dachshund.  I’ve been giving the fence a lot of thought, and I think we’re going to forgo using it.  Jasmine is never outside alone as it is, and I’d rather train her to obey my commands than have an electronic leash.  So, we’ll be working on control and recall.  I just don’t feel right about traumatizing her in any way…she’s already been through enough, and I believe in a more positive method of training and control.  It’s a personal choice…

Thanks for all the input on the fence!  It’s good to make an informed decision.

Leave a Reply

