Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Leapin’ Lizards!

on August 15, 2008

Jasmine has become much more brazen recently–a good thing, because I feel it signifies greater confidence on her part.  However, it makes me a little scared that she could end up hurting herself.

I was at Starbucks with her today, and as usual, I got my iced coffee and sat outside on the patio with Jasmine in my lap.  She laid down, and the parties at the table next to us commented on her dual eye color.  We chatted for a while, and they left.  Jasmine was calm and relaxed, and then she stood up and just leapt off my lap.

Whoa!  She’s never done that before!  She has leapt out of the back seat of the car twice when she was trying to get away from hubby, but I had no notice and no sign that she was scared this time.  She just wanted down.  My reflexes were good because I caught her mid-air and gently placed her on the ground.  She then decided that the “wrap the leash around Mom’s legs” game was the next task at hand.

Given the spinal problems that Dachshunds tend to have, I’m trying to keep her from dive-bombing off high places as much as possible.  As she gets more confident and feisty, I’m keeping a much more watchful eye to prevent injury.  However, we’re looking at moving to a new house that has a flight of stairs…maybe a doggie elevator is in store?  😀

One response to “Leapin’ Lizards!

  1. Tom says:

    We live in a two story house. I never thought about a doggie elevator. Maybe that should be our next home improvement project! I did make a ramp for Bernie to get up into and out of my recliner. And he only goes up stairs at night to go to bed.

    Tom

Leave a Reply

