Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Ring My Bell

on August 14, 2008

Earlier this month, I mentioned that I’m trying to train Jasmine to recognize the sound of a bell as her “go outside” sound.  Each time it’s time to go outside, I call to Jasmine to go outside and ring the bell.  I’m going to do this for a couple of months to equate the sound with the action.  I’m also beginning “touch this” training as well.  After she gets both, I’m then going to try to get her to touch the bell when she wants to go outside.  My husband just chuckles at me when I ring the bell.  🙂

Getting Jasmine to signal when she needs to go has been problematic.  She sometimes stares at me intently, and I have read that to mean “lemme out Mom!”  I look at her and ask her if she needs to go outside, and she jumps to attention and runs towards the back door–tail high and wagging.  Okay, I got that sign.  But at critical times (like when she had the Whipworms), she has “gone” on the slate floor in the foyer.  I’ve even been sitting on the couch not fifteen feet away when she’s done this, and it would have been easy for her to have signaled me to let her out.  The Whipworms made her go many times during the night, and several times, I did not hear her get up to go.  At very least, she did go on the easily cleaned slate floor.

She was never socialized or housetrained until she reached my home, and given that at the puppy mill she was confined to a small cage and HAD to soil her living area, I’m not surprised that there are issues with fully housetraining her.

Have you tried the bell approach?  Has it worked for you?

3 responses to “Ring My Bell

  1. Erica says:

    We used the bell technique with Darwin, fastening it to the door jam about 3 inches off the floor. He caught on fairly quickly which was great. The only problem was that he soon learned that we would take him outside EVERY time he rang the bell. For example, ‘Ding!’ — I have to pee!, ‘Ding’ — I think that was a squirrel’, ‘Ding!’ — maybe I just want to see if I can get you out of the chair…..

    We don’t use the bell anymore.

  2. Ben says:

    Our dog trainer recommended it as well but we’re only half-heartedly trying. Our dogs LOVE the touch command but I haven’t really applied it to the bell concept. Calvin, our one-year-old can hold it all day so we just let him out when we get home and then whenever he heads to the door in the evening. Theo, the puppy, is still working on his restraint. I don’t think he knows enough not to go inside so he wouldn’t bother with a bell anyway.

  3. Tom says:

    Our Bernie just “knocks” on the door when he wants to go out. It’s a wood sliding screen door so we can hear rattle around in the tracks. It’s funny … when he’s out and wants to come in, he knows how to open the door from the outside but hasn’t learned how to open from the inside, which would be the same manuever. Strange.

    Tom

Leave a Reply

