Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

The Beginnings of Acceptance

on August 11, 2008

I think the Starbucks experience has prompted even more positive change for Jasmine.

Jasmine has been sitting on my husband’s lap during our Starbucks visits.  He has also begun picking her up more and placing her in the car, on his lap, etc.  It’s been hard on him because she just cowers in fear when he tries, but we discussed the issue and he has decided to take a no-nonsense (but gentle) attitude towards these situations.  So I’ve been going inside to get the coffee, and hubby has been picking Jasmine up and putting her into his lap.  A few minutes later, I emerge with our beverages, and Jasmine greets me from the safety of hubby’s lap.

Now, this weekend we were at home watching tv when I decided to go snuggle with hubby in his recliner.  Jasmine, not wanting to be left out, came running and was jumping on the side of the chair to get my attention.  It was so funny…she didn’t want to be left out and insisted on being with us.  I picked her up and put her in our laps and we had some nice snuggle time together as a family.  I then slowly crawled off the chair to see what she’d do.  She crawled off as well.  However, I kept sitting at the foot of the chair, and to my amazement, she crawled back on the chair–and onto my husband’s lap.  There, she was lavished with pets and scratchies, and she finally FINALLY relaxed and just gave in to the comfort of being close to him.  She closed her eyes and put her head down on his tummy.  For once, she let her guard down and just enjoyed the pets.

I was elated that after 13 months, she has finally started to accept him as a family member and let her guard down.  Just the look on her face–and my husband’s–said it all.

2 responses to “The Beginnings of Acceptance

  1. Ben says:

    I so know how you feel. Calvin, my one-year-old, has hated my Dad from the very moment they met and it kills me everytime. My new pup though is a lot braver and is doing wonders with leading by example. I’m hoping that in time, Calvin will relax and understand that there’s more love to be found 🙂

  2. Debbie Rondinellli says:

    Great news!

Leave a Reply

