Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

A Long Night

on July 28, 2008

Last night, Jasmine woke up at midnight, 2:00 a.m., 2:45 a.m., 3:30 a.m., 4:30 a.m. and 5:30 a.m. to either go outside or to throw up.  We’re just about to leave for the vet.  At least she has started to drink water and has managed to keep it down this morning, but she won’t go near her food (I just made her a little rice and cottage cheese).  She’s also lethargic (understandably so).  I’m hoping the vet will be able to do something to make her feel better.

I’ll post more today after we return from the vet.

****** UPDATE*****

I had to leave Jasmine at the vet.  She has some sort of Hemorrhagic Gastroenteritis and is being given IV fluids and antibiotics.  There isn’t a way to tell the cause, but the vet is doing some “rule out” tests (X-ray, blood tests, etc.).  Jasmine was lethargic and dehydrated.  However, she did come running when I told her we were “going for rides” this morning.  Even with feeling like crap, she came bounding at me, wagging her little tail.

The vet thinks I’ll be able to take her home tonight, but it’s a wait-and-see right now.  I can’t tell you how worried I am about my little girl…

One response to “A Long Night

  1. ejwines2 says:

    Poor baby — I’ll be thinking good thoughts for both of you. Do let us know how she’s doing.

Leave a Reply

