Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

A Year With Jasmine

on July 15, 2008

I can’t believe it has already been a year since Jasmine came to us.  I can’t express how much love she’s brought into our lives and how much she means to us.  We are truly lucky to have such a funny, beautiful and sweet creature as a part of our family.

I think back on the year we’ve had, and I really marvel at what Jasmine has accomplished.  When we first got her, she was afraid of everything–stairs, carpet, tile floors, leashes, asphalt (yes, asphalt), and us.  Today, she is a pampered little dog that is happiest at my feet or on my lap.  She revels in scratchies behind the ear and is finally becoming accustomed to the outside world (as long as she’s in the safety of my arms or lap).  She’s sweet, gentle and funny.  She plays with toys on her own accord.  She is an avid fan of treats and doesn’t hesitate to perform her behaviors if there’s a Simon and Huey’s soft bite at stake.

But most of all, I marvel in the trust she bestows upon me.  She is my constant companion, my loving and devoted friend.  If I’m in another room, she comes looking for me.  If I go out, she’s by the door when I return.  She lays by my bedside at night, and she wakes me with a wagging tail and happy face in the morning.

I cannot tell you how rewarding this journey of rescuing and loving this little dog has been.  I knew we’d love any dog that came into our lives, but I didn’t quite understand what a deep impact this dog would have on us and how much she would become an integral member of our family.  I think the struggles we’ve faced have made her all the more precious, and all our lives are infinitely better for her being with us.

Thanks for a wonderful year, Jasmine.  We love you.

One response to “A Year With Jasmine

  1. MA says:

    Awww… what a great tribute to Jasmine! Isn’t it incredible how much a pet in general becomes a part of your family? Congratulations on all the milestones you have achieved with Jasmine 🙂 Go Jazzy!

Leave a Reply

