Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Buggin’ Me

on July 12, 2008

Jasmine is on her way back to a normal tummy.  She didn’t soil the house last night and she is getting more stable.  She seems to be very peppy and happy–well, she’s not happy with the bland diet.  Rice and cottage cheese just doesn’t appeal to her.

Last night, I took Jasmine out into the front yard to do her business before bed.  Unfortunately, I thought she’d be okay off leash just to go (yeah, what an idiot I am).  Boy, was I wrong.  There were a few beetles running around on the driveway, and Jasmine was entranced.  She scooted around, nose to the ground, chasing those little buggers (no pun intended).  She jumped around chasing the bugs including jumping into the street.  I called her, and she just didn’t hear me or listen to me.  I called and called and she continued to follow the bugs.  I finally chased her and got her attention and called her in.

She has never paid attention to critters in the past, and she always seems to be wary of her surroundings.   Last night, all that mattered were the bugs.  She didn’t seem to mind that there were people in the driveway.  What I learned is that I don’t have as much verbal control over her as I thought.  I need to be much more diligent on her whereabouts and know that she’s not 100% reliable in recall.  That was a good wake-up for me.  At least it happened when it wasn’t a dangerous situation.  There were no cars…thank goodness.

2 responses to “Buggin’ Me

  1. Debbie Rondinellli says:

    Hills prescription ID canned or dry food available from your vet is another great (and tasty) alternative to use when her tummy is upset.

    Glad she is feeling better.

  2. Mona here,

    The Mommy has been reading your blog all day today. My Aunt Annie died on the 17th & the Mommy started reading my DWB friends bloggies because they made her laugh & smile. We found yours, and since we visit all dachsies like me, we stopped by. I was rescued in JAN 2005. My Mommy adopted 5 of us all together but had to give all my brothers up because of health issues but she still loves all my brothers and gets to visit them all the time. They were all re-adopted excpet for my big brother Toby until TODAY!!!. The Mommy has been so sad because of my Aunt Annie’s passing that finding out Toby got adopted today was like a ray of hope.

    The Mommy can’t foster anymore….since I came to live with the Mommy, she has fostered 24 doggies… (3 DAPPLES) of course she adopted 2 of them…so she is what is called a foster failure. She still does other volunteeer work for DACHSHUND RESCUE OF HOUSTON where I came from.

    The Mommy is so proud of you and your husband for adopting a rescued dachsie. We have read Jasmine’s posts from the time you adopted her and are so proud of the progress she has mad.

    Come over & see me & the Mommy sometime.

    Mona

Leave a Reply

