Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Back Seat Rider

on June 24, 2008

Jasmine continues to love going for rides in the car, and she’s now taken to standing on her hind legs, resting her front paws on the arm rest and putting her nose out of the back seat window.  She’s just tall enough to peek out of the window and look around, and it’s SO cute to see her like that.  I can imagine that other drivers see that little face and just have to smile.

While she loves the back seat, Jasmine has been also trying to climb into the front.  We just got back from another trip to the East coast, and Jasmine has been particularly clingy today.  It’s understandable–she doesn’t like the kennel, and I have a feeling that she doesn’t sleep much there (she spent all day yesterday in a sleepy stupor).  She was trying, dangerously, to cross the chasm between the back and front seats.  Her nose can just touch the center console.  I took her with me to run an errand, and after the errand, I decided to move her pillow into the front passenger seat so she could reach me.

I secured her adjustable leash with the seatbelt so she wouldn’t go far and put her on her fluffy pillow.  We headed for home.  Instead of settling down, she tried to climb over the center console and into my lap.  Now, I’ve seen these crazy drivers with dogs in their laps, noses hanging out of the driver’s side window.  I will not do that–it’s so dangerous for both the dog and driver.  It wasn’t safe to have her roaming around, so I pulled over into a parking lot and put her back in the back seat.  She wasn’t pleased, but I’d rather have her safe than causing an accident.

So Jasmine is a forever a back-seat rider.  And now that summer is here, she’ll get to be a back seat rider in my convertible, wind whipping her ears around.  🙂

2 responses to “Back Seat Rider

  1. sophie's human says:

    I found that a dogie car seat (the look out is a great throne for my dachshund princess) is great for both long and short car trips.

    Thanks for sharing your experience of being owned by a doxie!

  2. MA says:

    oooohh… sounds so much fun! I want a convertible to tool around town in… I bet Kona would love it! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your stories about Jasmine.. I’m an avid reader! 🙂

Leave a Reply

