Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Just The Two of Us

on June 3, 2008

My husband is away this week on a business trip, so Jasmine and I are enjoying some alone time.  Any change in her routine is difficult for her, and this week, her issues stem with uncertainty.  My husband usually feeds her.  Now, it’s me.  When it’s bedtime, she doesn’t know where he is, and she creeps over to his side of the bed looking for him.  Last night, when she didn’t find him, she crawled under the bed and hid.  I think she’s anxious because her normal routine has been disrupted…there’s uncertainty now.

The nice thing about routine is that her anxiety level goes down when she understands the context of the action.  From the very start, she’s been left home alone for anywhere from two to six hours at a time.  Instead of causing separation anxiety, this is part of her normal routine and entirely acceptable.  That’s not to say that she’s not wonderfully happy to see me when I get home, but it’s nice to know that I can leave her without distressing her.

During these past few days, she’s been pushing the “I want a treat” button more frequently than usual.  Maybe I’m more aware of the cute little requests…no, I think she’s just taking advantage of my soft underbelly as she jumps on me with wide eyes and a wagging tail.  I’m good with that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

