Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Sun Dog

on May 16, 2008

We’ve been having unseasonably hot weather for the past few days.  As I write, it’s 97 degrees in San Jose–about 20 to 25 degrees above our normal temperature for May 16.  I’ve been staying indoors as much as possible, which also means that walkies have been suspended for the time being and “outside” time for Jasmine is limited to doing her business.

Jasmine, like most/all dogs, loves to sleep in the sun.  I’ve been keeping the curtains closed to keep the house a bit cooler, and Jasmine has been fidgety.  Yesterday, instead of going outside to do her business, she sauntered over to the lawn in the back yard and just plopped down.  It was 100 degrees out, and she was just so happy to feel the sunshine on her back.  I walked back inside the house and closed the door (I don’t like the heat) and I peeked out the back window to check on her five minutes later.  While the call of the afternoon sun was strong, her desire to be with me was stronger.  She was sitting in front of the back door waiting for me to appear.  I let her in, and she bounded in, tail wagging.

Today, she’s been showing more fidgety behavior.  It’s been a little cooler (a balmy 97), but the heat started earlier today.  The drapes were closed except for a tiny peek of sun where the cord from the electric fan I put in the room was coming into the room from the electric socket.  Jasmine perched herself to have that little sliver of sun on her back.  I felt so bad that I opened the drapes so a nice dachshund-sized patch of sun emerged.  She immediately plopped her body into the sunshine and went to sleep.  She’s there right now, half in and half out of that patch.  Sure the room is a bit warmer, but I can’t  deprive her of her warm afternoon snooze.  She’s just so darn pretty laying there, sun glistening off her soft fur.

One response to “Sun Dog

  1. Suzan says:

    Hello,
    I just found your blog and have been enjoying reading about Jasmine. My husband and I have rescued two doxies in the last year. Obie and Blue are a wonderful addition to our home but those adjustments are difficult. Jasmine sounds wonderful and I look forward to reading more about her.

Leave a Reply

