Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Some Changes

on April 15, 2008

Jasmine has been a little different since we got back from vacation, and I’ve noticed a few small changes in the past week.

First, she’s more curious. She’s exploring more, pushing the envelope more and just getting into things that she never got into before. She noticed a squirrel running up a tree today. She’s only noticed squirrels once before…otherwise, she just seems to ignore them when we’re on our walks.

This is manifesting itself in other ways. She stole an apple core off the coffee table today. I ate an apple this morning, and I left the core wrapped in a napkin on the table. I went out to get some groceries, and when I got home, the apple core was gone. I found half of it under the couch and the napkin on Jasmine’s day bed. Hm…I didn’t catch her in the act, so…

Jasmine also started playing by herself today. I’ve been teasing her with the ropey toy, and in the past, she would only chew on it when I was playing with her. Today, she not only initiated her own play, but she also took another toy (her little Bobo toy from PetSmart) and started carrying it around the room. This is a first for her, and it really is exciting to see her finally play.

While these may seem like small changes, I think they are big steps towards normalcy. I guess I’ll have to be more careful where I leave things from now on…she’s ignored everything thus far, and I have been taking it for granted that she’ll always stay this way. Judging by the stack of magazines that she pushed over, the honeymoon is ending and we’re starting to get a curious, mischievous and happy dog amongst our midst. It’s about time.

I had to share this picture of Jasmine. It’s so cute-ugly…my little “rat” dog.

Rat Dog

Leave a Reply

